Easiest peach cobbler. Ever.

Earlier this week I saw an easy peach cobbler recipe on Chef in Training, & it made me nostalgic for campfire dinners, with cobbler & pineapple upside-down cake made in the Dutch oven over the coals for dessert. There’s something about eating around a campfire that makes everything taste that much more delicious.

I don’t have a campfire, but I have an oven, some canned peaches, & cake mix!

(Please pardon the less-than-stellar photo… I opted to place my Boden order — 25% off sale!!! — before making cobbler, & by the time it was out of the oven, the light was spent. Priorities, priorities!)

So here’s how to make the easiest cobbler (or upside-down cake) ever:

  • 2 cans peaches in light syrup or 2 cans pineapple chunks in juice
  • cinnamon, to taste (but not if you’re making the pineapple version)
  • 1 yellow cake mix
  • 1 stick butter, sliced into small pieces (lowfat version: omit this. It won’t be quite as golden on top, but it’ll still be cobbler-y!)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Pour fruit & syrup into bottom of 9×13 Pyrex baking dish. Cut into bite-sized chunks, if needed.
  3. Sprinkle cinnamon evenly over the top. (Or, if you’re me, forget to do this until the oven’s open & you’re putting it in, then pull it back out & sprinkle over the top of the whole thing…)
  4. Add cake mix, making sure it’s evenly distributed.
  5. Place butter slices evenly over the top of that. See the pretty layers?
  6. Bake for 40 minutes or until golden & cake is set. Let cool slightly, then enjoy — no campfire needed!

(P.S.: I just did some research for you, & in case you were wondering, this is just as fantastic heated up in the microwave after sitting in the fridge for a day. I know, I know — the sacrifices I make for you, my readers. Enjoy!)

 
Tidy Mom

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!

29 Comments

Filed under Recipes

29 responses to “Easiest peach cobbler. Ever.

  1. Ok, this sounds so delish and like the perfect dish to bring to a summer potluck! Thanks so much for linking to Recipes To Run On! Can’t wait to try this.

  2. Oh. My gosh! This looks great! And easy!

  3. This looks SO good! Yum, I’ve been in love with all of your recipes lately! They’re on my to do list to try out – this might have jumped to #1 though! I love peach cobbler and upside down cakes. They’re one of my favorite types of summer desserts!
    Star Hughes Living

  4. YUM! It looks great! Thanks for linking up my blog! I will DEFINITELY have to try cinnamon next time! I’m a huge fan of it and I bet it tastes wonderful in there! Great job! It looks beautiful! Also, I would love if you stopped by and entered my giveaway! Have a great weekend!
    -Nikki
    http://chef-n-training.blogspot.com/

  5. Mandy

    Yum. I’m pretty addicted to my peach cobbler recipe…but it uses fresh peaches and requires mucho prep. This is definitely going to be making an appearance on our table soon. Thanks Catherine!

  6. mindie

    I would love for you to link it up to my party that is running now. Any linky goes.

    http://bacontimewiththehungryhypo.blogspot.com/2011/06/any-link-goes-party-running-now-summer.html

    Come strut your stuff.

  7. Lara

    Quick question. What size are the cans for peaches?? THANKS! can’t wait to try it!

  8. Loretta

    I just made the recipe and was wondering if I was supposed to stir the powdered cake mixture with the canned peaches or just sprinkle it on top?

  9. Brooke

    Do you know how to do this with frozen peaches?

  10. Ann Marie

    Thank you so much for this awesome recipe! It is so delicious! It passed my picky kids test!! Woooo Hooooo!!!!!

  11. Laura

    Love this recipe so much. Inexpensive…easy to make…and solo yummy!

  12. Jackie

    How big are the cans of peaches supposed to be?

  13. Breanna

    Can I use a different cake mix? I only have white and vanilla…

  14. did you just pour the cake mix on top or did you mix it with eggs & oil first?

  15. Britt28

    I fixed this for a church fellowship night and got tons of compliments and everyone asked for the recipe! 🙂 Its so easy and I LOVE that!

  16. Summer

    This recipe looks really yummy. I can’t wait to try. I am looking for a crispy/chewy crust. I do not prefer the cake/fluffy like crust. Which sort of crust does this produce?

  17. Mo4Lyfe

    I want to make this for Mother’s Day but would like to know if you added sugar to the recipe or will it be sweet enough from the canned peaches

Leave a comment