On the lighter side: Pasta with Arugula & Tomatoes.

I don’t know about you, but in the summer time I start craving more fruits & veggies, & less meat. So I was so glad when I found this recipe, way back before I was pregnant with The Munchkin, when I was getting paid to stare at a computer screen for 40 hours a week & had time to peruse the deliciousness that is Serious Eats. I have since fallen way behind in my Serious Eats reading, much to the detriment of my weekly menu, but I’m managing. In fact, just now as I went there to find the link to the recipe, I found myself scanning a few of the eye-candy photos… It’s addictive.

Anyway, back to the pasta. This meal is light but satisfying, fresh, easy, colorful, & flavorful. I think we have all our bases covered there… Shall we begin?

  • 1 pound pasta (I use whole-grain for added protein & fiber)
  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes, rinsed
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (it’s just enough to add zing without too much heat)
  • a few handfuls baby arugula
  • grated Pecorino Romano cheese, to taste (no substitutions here; I’ve tried. You need the salty bite of the Pecorino Romano to complement the sweetness of the tomatoes.)
  • salt, to taste (optional)
  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Meanwhile, halve or quarter cherry tomatoes.
  2. Add pasta to water & cook to al dente according to package directions. Once pasta has been added, heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat, then add garlic & red pepper flakes. Saute until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  3. Add tomatoes & saute, stirring frequently, until softened & skins are beginning to blister, about 5 minutes.
  4. Add arugula to pot of pasta water for last 2-3 minutes, then drain & return to pot.
  5. Toss tomatoes with pasta mixture, then transfer to pasta bowls & top with Pecorino Romano & salt, to taste.

 Delicious! What’s your favorite light summer dish?

15 Comments

Filed under Healthy living, Recipes

15 responses to “On the lighter side: Pasta with Arugula & Tomatoes.

  1. OH this sounds so good! Looks like a nice, light yet a satisfying summer meal

  2. That just looks so cool, fresh & vibrant! LOVE the colors and perfect for summer. Great job!

  3. Leah

    This looks so good! I love simple and flavorful veggie pasta dishes, especially in the warmer months. And since I’m eating less meat, I’ll be making this dish very soon. Thanks!

  4. Yum, sounds delicious!!! And looks amazing too! Great photography skills and I love the red bowl with it too! That’s a great mix of healthy and yummy – I’m always on the lookout for pasta with veggie recipes! Great recipe!!
    Star Hughes Living

  5. This looks like a delicious Summer Recipe! We are hosting “FUN SUMMER RECIPES” at our Linky Party THIS WEEKS CRAVINGS! We’d love for you to come by and link up! (Thanks a million) 🙂

    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/2011/06/this-weeks-cravings-linky-party-32-fun.html

  6. this looks yum. I think I will try it this week for dinner. thank you!

    kathryn
    http://www.thedragonsfairytail.blogspot.com
    twitter: kathblogger

  7. I love pasta salad in the summer. This sounds SO good. BTW, I totally need to commit to meal planning this summer. I’m getting lazy with it. {I was going to email you, but there is no email associated with your profile on Blogger…. I loved your comment about your 5K. Funny that we have to learn the hard way as we go on our running journey. :-)}

  8. Thanks for coming back and linking to THIS WEEK’S CRAVINGS, next Monday is Father’s Day Favorite Recipes, hope to see you linking up again!

    http://momscrazycooking.blogspot.com/search/label/THIS%20WEEKS%20CRAVINGS

  9. Oh yummy! That pasta sounds fantastic. I wish I had some now 🙂

  10. Tomatoes are definitely a big favorite during the summer for me. I like them in pastas or just in a caprese salad.

  11. Ohh, this is one of my favorite recipes! I use pesto with it, though. Yumm!!
    Thank you so much for linking this up to {nifty thrifty things} last week!
    I hope to see you again tomorrow! 😉
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  12. mindie

    Thanks for linking up at Bacon Time. Wow for a first party I can’t believe we had over 300 links. Can’t wait to see what you share next week. I have a special give away planned just for the linkers at the party. I would love it if you would grab the party button when you get a chance for your blog.

  13. Pingback: Lady Behind the Curtain » Party Round Up – Lunch ( from Cast Party Wednesday #22)

  14. This caught my eye and belly! Say you on the Lady Behind the Curtain! I have a natural living website and have to share this on my FB wall! Thank you, my readers will lick their lips! 😉 ~Dr. Lisa

    Oh tried to sign up by RSS, but did not work,, but going to follow you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

