Indoor S’mores.

I’m in gas-oven withdrawal. The stove/oven in our new place is electric, & I’m having a hard time with the whole “patience” thing when it comes to getting water to boil. Plus, the barbecue chicken I made for dinner tonight was pretty much raw. Joy. So I’m in the process of making my first batch of chocolate-chip cookies in the new oven to try to calibrate the darn thing. Please let it be something simple, like being a few degrees off or something.

In the meantime, here’s another “recipe” from before we moved. That word is in quotes because it’s really not a recipe — just a housewife desperate for something sweet to eat after The Munchkin’s in bed that doesn’t involve getting dishes dirty & that helps polish off some of the stuff in her pantry before moving.

Let’s make S’mores! Without the campfire!

All you need is a graham cracker, a marshmallow, & some glorious Nutella. Sliced bananas would also be spot-on — but we didn’t have any. Give it a try though; I promise you’ll love it.

On a paper towel, of course, because we’re trying not to get dishes dirty, remember? Except for the knife we used to spread the Nutella, which our hypothetical housewife immediately licked clean enough to eat off of anyway… Hypothetically.

Now we take the marshmallow half & nuke it for 10 seconds — just until it puffs up. Any longer than that & it’ll blow up & you’ll spend the next hour scraping hardened marshmallow off of the inside of your microwave. (Childhood experience with Peeps informed that little tidbit…)

If you’re daring enough to get a cookie sheet dirty, putting this baby under the broiler in you oven would give it that delicious, campfire-esque toastiness you might be looking for.

Lastly, just smush the two halves together! The Nutella makes it even meltier & oozier than a Hershey’s chocolate bar. You can thank me later.

Now, who can help me relearn how to cook in an electric oven??? So far it looks like it might be as much as 25 degrees lower than it says. Help!

Tidy Mom

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!

7 Comments

Filed under Recipes

7 responses to “Indoor S’mores.

  1. Oh we went from gas to electric too. Hate it. I baked cookies and tried it at the same time with different temps for each batch and that kinda helped me gage how it cooked. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear all about Florida 🙂

  2. Brilliant! Thanks so much for linking up with sweet tooth Friday!

  3. These are such great food pictures! I am always so impressed! And I’m a huge Smore fan but never tried it with nutella. I’m sure it’s delicious! Thanks for the tip!!!

    I hope the stove situation gets better soon! 😦 Sounds like a pain!

  4. This is great! I’ve been wanting to do s’mores with Sophie. But I am afraid of the fire part. So I love the indoor-heating idea. Will be trying this soon.

  5. You had me at chocolate! Banana’s would totally rock this s’more!

  6. Oh my goodness- Nutella!!! BRILLIANT! I am going to have to try this immediately! Thank you so much for linking up to Strut Your Stuff Saturday! We are so grateful for your support and we hope that you will be back tomorrow to share more great ideas!
    Camille @
    SixSistersStuff.blogspot.com

  7. Yumm! I love Nutella!
    Thank you so much for linking this up to {nifty thrifty sunday} last week as well!!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

Leave a comment