Award-winning (!!!) peach-strawberry cobbler.

Yesterday was Pioneer Day, a holiday that commemorates the day in 1847 when the Mormon pioneers first entered the Salt Lake Valley. It’s a state holiday in Utah; everywhere else, Mormon wards put on picnics/barbecues/etc. to celebrate. Our new ward had a barbecue & “Dutch oven” baking contest on Saturday. (“Dutch oven” is in quotes because entrants were instructed to bake it in their ovens at home, then bring it in a Dutch oven. I used my Le Creuset Dutch oven. It still counts.)

Meet: the winner! Ta-da!

This recipe originated from The Princess & the Frog: Tiana’s Cookbook: Recipes for Kids, was modified by Tina at Mom’s Crazy Cooking, & then re-modified by me & my unfortunately still wonky (that Indiana-ism is the only word I can think of that can accurately describe it) oven.

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3 cups diced fresh peaches (I wound up having to freeze half of mine because produce gets to the store a little riper down here than in the Tri-State Area; they still worked fine)
  • 1 cup sliced fresh strawberries (ditto)
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • 1 cup cold milk (I used 2%)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 (or prepare your campfire, if you’re ambitious enough to be all “authentic”). Use a pat of the butter to grease the inside of your Dutch oven.
  2. Melt remaining butter in the microwave. Set aside.
  3. Combine fruit in a small-ish bowl & sprinkle with 1 Tbsp. of the sugar. Stir gently & then set aside to macerate.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, & salt. Add remaining sugar, milk, & vanilla; stir until well blended. The batter will be (perhaps alarmingly) thin.
  5. Pour the melted butter into the batter & whisk quickly until just combined. The batter should be a little thicker now. Pour immediately into the bottom of your Dutch oven.
  6. Gently spoon the fruit mixture into the batter & lightly press it partway into the batter.
  7. Bake (uncovered if you’re using the oven; covered if you’re using a campfire) about 1 hour, or until top is golden brown. Serve warm. Win a baking contest!

8 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

8 responses to “Award-winning (!!!) peach-strawberry cobbler.

  1. This looks so amazing! I love anything with fresh peaches. I’ll be trying this one very soon!

  2. looks divine, well done you!

  3. This looks yummy. I love any kind of cobbler, crisp etc. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Hmm.. This looks really delicious!!!
    Thank you so much for linking it up to {nifty thrifty sunday} last week!! I would love it if you joined me again tomorrow! 🙂
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  5. Yum! I’ve never thought of adding strawberries to my cobbler.

  6. This looks sooo good! I love the combination of fruits! Peaches and strawberries seem like such perfect complements – I can’t believe I haven’t ever tried that before. Yum!

  7. i made it yesterday morning; it was gone by nightfall! (I have teenage boys!) A huge hit with my fam. THanks!

  8. This looks good! My SIL just made it and said it was good. I posted something similar on my website. You only use Berries, Sprite and yellow cake mix.

Leave a Reply

