A Father’s Day breakfast your kids will WANT to help you make.

Sometimes I think Father’s Day would be more appropriately named Husband’s Day. I know you know what I’m talking about. I don’t see many 9-year-olds perusing craft blogs or back issues of Martha Stewart Living looking for cute presents to make for Dad, do you? Mom does it all.

Well, fortunately for you, I’ve got a delicious breakfast you can make for Dad that your kids will beg to help you with. Why? Because it’s messy. Unbelievably messy, if you’re doing it right (or wrong, I guess, depending on your point of view). They’ll get to run their fingers through cinnamon-sugar & sprinkle it over gooey, butter-dredged muffins. Have the Dustbuster ready, ladies!

This recipe comes from ranch wife-turned-blogger-turned role model Ree Drummond’s cookbook The Pioneer Woman Cooks! She calls them French Breakfast Puffs, but My Husband The Patriot prefers the term… (& they are for him, after all, so we’ll go with it…)

Freedom Puffs

  • 3 cups flour
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. (plus a pinch — this is me saying this, not Ree) nutmeg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 tsp. cinnamon
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 & lightly grease a muffin tin. (Ree says this makes 12 muffins, but I always end up with at least 16, even overfilling the muffin tin slightly.)
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, & nutmeg.
  3. In your mixer bowl, cream together sugar & shortening. Add eggs; mix.
  4. With the mixer on low, add flour mixture & milk, alternating 1/3 of the flour, 1/3 of the milk, 1/3 of the flour, 1/3 of the milk, etc.
  5. Fill muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden & a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  6. Melt butter in a large shallow bowl or glass baking dish in your microwave (this takes a minute or so).
  7. Combine cinnamon & sugar in another large shallow bowl.
  8. Dip warm muffins one at a time in the butter, coating thoroughly, then let your kids roll them in the cinnamon-sugar mixture to coat. The Munchkin kept calling it “sand.” Maybe my bowl should’ve been the size of a sandbox in order to contain it all…
  9. Wake up Dad & enjoy these babies warm! Maybe with a topper or flag like this free printable one from Amy Locurto. Or wrap in Saran Wrap, stick in a Ziploc freezer bag, & freeze for later. As Ree says, “They’re in the ‘reheats beautifully’ section of my life.” Just zap one in the microwave, wrapped loosely in a paper towel, for 45 seconds or so!

What are you (& hopefully your kids!) making for Dad this Father’s Day?

Tidy Mom

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!

7 Comments

Filed under Adventures in Mommydom, Holidays, Recipes

7 responses to “A Father’s Day breakfast your kids will WANT to help you make.

  1. Aren’t those the most amazing muffins?! I made them and we nearly ate the entire pan at once. I may take your advice and make them for my husband for Father’s Day (it’s the gift that doubles for moms too).

  2. Those look amazing and you are SO brave to make that mess. I’m not sure I could handle it… but it would be worth it, to get the kids into the kitchen.

  3. I’ve been dying to try this recipe. I love The Pioneer Woman’s cookbook.

    Thanks for linking up with Sweet Tooth Friday!

  4. so cute and they look delish too!

  5. What precious pictures. I love the picture of the stool with all the sugar on it. Too Cute! The muffins look good too! HA! I’m hosting my first link party “Cast Party Wednesday” and would love it if you stopped by and shared this recipe with us.
    http://www.ladybehindthecurtain.com
    Thanks,
    I hope to see you there!

  6. Those look and sound soooo yummy!!! I love Pioneer Woman and her sayings! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! Too bad I missed Father’s Day by one day, but I’ll be making it soon regardless!!! 🙂
    Star Hughes Living

  7. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe with us. I hope you will come over tomorrow and share more of your delicious recipes with us at Cast Party Wednesday. http://www.ladybehindthecurtain.com
    I hope to see you there!

Leave a comment