Dr. Seuss breakfast.

This Wednesday is Dr. Seuss’ birthday! Did you know that? It’s also Read Across America Day. “On March 2, the National Education Association calls for every child to be reading in the company of a caring adult” (their website). This week I hope to bring you a few ways to get your kids excited about reading.

How about we start with the most important meal of the day?

Let’s have some Green Eggs & Ham (& cheese & sauteed onions) omelettes with some Cat in the Hat Pancakes!

We just made our usual weekend breakfast (or “brinner,” or in this case, “brunch”) the same way as always, except I added 4 drops of green food coloring to our 2-egg omelettes (The Munchkin’s 1-egg omelette got 3 drops), & my husband, the Pancake Master, made the white pancakes (including a slightly larger “brim”) & then added “lots” of red food coloring to the pancake batter for the last couple batches. Easy & fun!

The Munchkin was so excited to pull the books out for me to photograph. I didn’t take as much time as usual to set up the shot because we were hungry & the BYU-SDSU game was starting. Priorities, people!

BYU games aside, though, we do make time for reading every day. The Munchkin loves her books, & we love reliving some of the stories we grew up with (like those Dr. Seuss books — I had forgotten exactly how little of One Fish Two Fish really was about fish), as well as enjoying new ones (my parents brought Who’s in the Loo? back from London a couple years ago — it’s a riot!). It’s a great learning, cuddling, & bonding experience for all of us.

What’s your favorite thing about reading with your kids?

Featured on…
obSEUSSedLinkCollection

12 Comments

Filed under Activities, Recipes

12 responses to “Dr. Seuss breakfast.

  1. I LOVE this! You are too clever. The stacked pancakes hat makes me smile! I am now officially on the hunt for food coloring in China. (Hopefully one that’s safe for consumers.) Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is so FUN!!! Your hat actually looks like a hat:) So clever – I love it!

  3. This looks Seussalicious! Your hat really looks great! I’m adding a link to this on my children’s book blog where I collect Dr. Seuss links and plan to feature it for Dr. Seuss’ birthday tomorrow. http://www.obseussed.com/p/books.html

  4. Pingback: » Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss - Divine Party Concepts

  5. That is seriously the cutest idea ever! My kids would love it, I’ll have to give them a try!
    I’d love for you to come link this up to my *Get Creative* party this week
    http://www.justalittlecreativity.blogspot.com/2012/02/get-creative-linky-party-and-features.html
    Hope to see you there!
    -Molly

  6. Oh my this is adorable! I’d love to have you share it as part of my Kid’s crafts Linky Party. I can’t get over how creative and cute the stack of pancakes is!
    Paula at Welcoming Spirit
    http://bit.ly/wXXVt8

  7. LOVE this! I’ve featured it this week at my *Get Creative* party, come on over and grab your “I’ve Been Featured” button, and link up any new craftiness you have 🙂
    http://www.justalittlecreativity.com/2012/02/get-creative-party-3-and-fun-features.html
    Hope to see you there again this week!
    -Molly

  8. Pingback: 4 Fun Ideas for a Dr. Seuss Celebration | ptpamedia.com

  9. Pingback: Dr. Seuss Activities for Kids - Prototype mama

  10. Pingback: 20 Cat in the Hat Inspired Food - The Scrap Shoppe

  11. Pingback: Dr. Seuss Activities for Kids -

Leave a comment