Clean Sweet Potato Oven Wedge Fries.

Dairy-free | Soy-free | Gluten-free | Nut-free | Clean eating | Paleo | Vegetarian | Vegan

DSC_0042

This is one of my favorite, easiest ways to make sweet potatoes. (I’ll post the other one soon; we eat LOTS of sweet potatoes around here.) I got the original recipe from a paleo blog while we were living in London and had very few kitchen tools to cook with, but then I guess the blog disappeared because I can’t access it anymore! So since I still make this all the time, I’m posting my version here so that hopefully it never gets lost again.

The beauty of it is there’s no wrong way. You can make them salty, spicy, sweet–or a combination of all 3. I even throw one Russett potato in there for the 2/5 of my family who don’t like sweet potatoes (gasp!). The trick to getting them crispier without burning them is using a very small amount of oil. They’re still not going to be as crisp as the ones you buy in the freezer section that are coated with stuff to enhance the texture, but they’re so delicious.

IMG_8744

Sweet Potato Oven Wedges

  • 2-3 large sweet potatoes, scrubbed well and well dried off
  • up to 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • spices of choice: I use about 1/2 tsp. salt, a sprinkle of pepper, and a touch of paprika. Try cinnamon and a little maple syrup; or salt, thyme, and cayenne; or any of your favorites! Please comment below with what you enjoy; I love trying new variations!
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Slice your sweet potatoes lengthwise into 1/2-inch wedges and place in a large bowl.
  3. Drizzle a very small amount of olive oil and toss with your hands until wedges are just coated. Sprinkle on about 1/2 tsp. salt (or your maple syrup–remember, small amounts), tossing as you go.
  4. Spread them in a single layer onto an ungreased nonstick baking sheet. Don’t use parchment paper or foil; it makes them harder to flip. Sprinkle remaining seasonings over the top.
  5. Bake at 400 for 15 minutes, then remove and flip all the wedges. Return to oven and bake another 11-15 minutes.
  6. Enjoy!
8 Comments

Filed under Recipes

8 responses to “Clean Sweet Potato Oven Wedge Fries.

  1. soulpaletteblog

    YUM! Defnitely making these soon. Sweet potatoes are my fave!
    xoxo
    Caylie

    https://soulpaletteblog.wordpress.com/

  2. I make these all the time! I honestly could eat them with like every meal. So good!

  3. I love sweet potatoes! It’s amazing to me that they’re not a junk food, they taste so good

  4. Hi, I love sweet potatoes but when I try fries or wedges they never cook well. I will give your version a try. Thanks for sharing, Chloe.
    https://pinkiebag.com/

  5. I love baked sweet potato wedges! One of my favorite snacks 🙂

  6. I love these. My favourite thing to put on sweet potato chips is cumin seeds! such a lovely intense flavour 🙂

Leave a Reply

