Magic One-Pot Pasta.

Meatless | Clean | Vegetarian option | Dairy-free | Soy-free | Nut-free

Have you read the children’s book Strega Nona, by Tomie de Paola? The main character is a grandmother witch who has a magic pasta pot. She sings a song to it, and it magically fills with fresh, hot pasta:

Bubble, bubble, pasta pot–
Boil me some pasta, nice and hot.
I’m hungry and it’s time to sup;
Boil enough pasta to fill me up.

Her bungling assistant, Big Anthony, thinks he knows her secret, but he forgets one crucial step and soon the whole town is swimming in pasta!

DSC_0044

We love that book. And we love pasta! When I first introduced my girls to this recipe, I called it “Strega Nona pasta,” because it’s magic, just like hers! This pasta won’t magically appear in your pot, but it takes so few steps that it might as well. And at least you don’t have to worry about it overflowing and filling your house!

I love that I can dump all these fresh, delicious ingredients into a pot, turn on the burner, and when the timer goes off, I have a magical pot full of fragrant, hot pasta, ready to eat–I don’t even need to drain it!
DSC_0047

“Strega Nona” Pasta

Original recipe here

  • 12 oz. whole-wheat spaghetti (I throw in a couple handfuls of short pasta, like whole-wheat rotini, for my little ones as well)
  • 1/2 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 2 cups (1 pint) grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 sprigs fresh basil, chiffonade (cut into ribbons)
  • up to 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (I use 1/4 tsp)
  • up to 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp good-quality balsamic vinegar
  • 4 to 4 1/2 cups chicken (or “no-chicken” or vegetable) broth
  • optional: fresh grated parmesan
  1. Dump all ingredients into a large pot with tall sides. If your pot isn’t wide enough for your spaghetti to lie flat, break the spaghetti in half.
  2. Bring to a boil over high heat; boil 10-12 minutes or until pasta is cooked and much of the liquid is absorbed.
  3. Serve immediately, topped with parmesan if desired.
2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Magic One-Pot Pasta.

  1. I love this one pot idea, I’m going to give it a try, thank you 😊.
    http://pinkiebag.com

Leave a Reply

