{Secret Recipe Club} Berry Terrine.

This month my Secret Recipe Club assignment was Dancing Veggies, a (mostly) vegetarian blog with a few vegan recipes. Way to get me out of my comfort zone! As I scrolled down Amanda’s list of recipes, many caught my eye, like these pierogies & these super-tasty-looking zucchini fritters with homemade tzatziki sauce. But, as you know, I’ve been on a bit of a berry kick lately, so when I saw her Verry Berry Terrine, I knew that’s what I had to make!

Like Amanda, I had never heard of a terrine before, so I decided to do a Google Image search to see what dessert terrines looked like. Inspired by the many layered desserts I saw, I elected to do 3 layers instead of her 2: 1 with blueberries, 1 of just cream, & 1 with strawberries. Red, white, & blue! You could serve this for one of the many patriotic holidays we have coming up, or, since I seem to be the only food or craft blogger who didn’t make something for the Super Bowl, Patriots or Giants colors. This dessert looks fancy, but it was remarkably easy, & I already had everything I needed for it. I love it when that happens!

  • 12 oz. Neufchatel cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups prepared whipped cream (or Cool Whip)
  • 1 cup blueberries, rinsed & patted dry
  • 1 cup diced strawberries
  • 1 cup crushed graham crackers
  • 2 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • about 8 whole graham cracker sheets, quartered on the perforations
  1. Line a loaf pan with enough wax paper over the sides to cover the top as well.
  2. In your mixer bowl, cream together cream cheese & sugar. Mix in the vanilla, then remove from mixer & use spatula fold in the whipped cream until well combined.
  3. Split the mixture into 3 smaller bowls. Fold blueberries into the cream mixture in one of the bowls, & the strawberries into another.
  4. Combine the graham cracker crumbs with the melted butter (it can be in the same bowl you used for the cream cheese). Press the mixture into the bottom & halfway up the sides of the loaf pan.
  5. Very gently pour/spread the blueberry-cream mixture over the top of the graham cracker crumbs. Use your spatula to smooth it flat, then do the same with the cream, & lastly with the strawberries. Gently slide graham crackers down the sides of the pan, between the strawberry layer & the wax paper.
  6. Place remaining graham crackers on top to cover the strawberry layer. Fold the overhanging wax paper over the top. Use pie weights (or, in their absence, a Tupperware of frozen leftover spaghetti sauce works quite well) to keep it pressed down. Freeze several hours or overnight.
  7. Remove to refrigerator to thaw a few hours before serving (we took it out almost 4 hours beforehand & the fruit was still frozen). Remove wax paper, then invert from pan onto a serving plate. Then cut into slices with a sharp knife. It’ll keep for several days in the fridge, but will get quite soft once it’s fully thawed, so it’s best to eat it within 24 hours of pulling it out of the freezer.

Thanks, Amanda! This was delicious!

Secret Recipe Club

Oopsey Daisy
17 Comments

Filed under Recipes

17 responses to “{Secret Recipe Club} Berry Terrine.

  1. looks really good! i love it when you don’t have to deliberately go out to buy ingredients for a new recipe.

  2. Another?! I totally have to do this secret club thingy. That looks absolutely wonderful, truly.

  3. I didn’t do any Super Bowl food either so you’re not alone. Your terrine looks wonderful, delicious and quite fancy, what a wonderful dessert.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my SRC entry: Crunchy Fudgy Heart Bites

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  4. Gorgeous! This looks so delicious – what a perfect sweet treat! 🙂

  5. wow! What an awesome choice! I am totally making this!

  6. Wow, a dessert terrine sounds delicious. And I love how it all looks.

  7. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing with the SRC.

  8. such a nice recipe! love it!

  9. beautiful! great choice for SRC. 🙂

  10. I love this!! I have plenty of savory terrines but can’t wait to try this sweet one 🙂

  11. Julie

    This looks really good.

  12. The berry terrine looks absolutely great.

  13. That looks like such a fun dessert…my son would love this 🙂

  14. What a clever idea-great SRC pick. Definitely doing this one. Pinned it too.

  15. I have always wanted to try one of these. Yours looks stunning. The color is amazing.

  16. YUM! Terrines are new to me too but this looks delicious! Thanks for sharing at oopsey daisy!

  17. teaandscones

    THAT looks like an awesome dessert. I never thought I would find anything on a Veggie blog, but found tons of stuff I want to make.

Leave a Reply

