Fresh strawberry frosting for heart cutout cookies.

Have you heard of Sprinkles Cupcakes? The first time I heard of them was when they featured this recipe on the Martha Stewart Show a few years ago. Then the California bakery opened a store on the Upper East Side shortly before we left New York, & I had grand designs of doing an East Side-West Side, West Coast-East Coast cupcake taste test to see if they competed with Magnolia, but ran out of time. So I still haven’t had one of their cupcakes. But I’ve never forgotten this frosting recipe!

While I was planning a slew of projects & activities to keep The Munchkin & me occupied & sane in our tiny apartment during Three-Day Potty Training (incidentally, it worked!), I decided on cookies instead of cupcakes because I knew she’d have more fun cutting them out. I had some Pillsbury refrigerated dough on hand, which saved prep time, but honestly the strawberry flavor didn’t come out very well because of the vanilla cookies. Ideally, you’d use the Sprinkles strawberry cupcake recipe too so you really get the strawberry flavor, or if you did do cookies, add some puree or a fruity extract (like lemon or orange) to the dough. But it sure does give a beautiful soft pink hue!

If you plan to decorate your cookies with piping, rather than just sprinkles, you’ll probably want to strain your strawberry puree & add enough cream to reach your desired piping consistency. Also, try to freeze your own fresh strawberries. Buying a whole bag of frozen strawberries at the store not only wastes money & strawberries if you’re not going to be using them; commenters had stated that the less-fresh strawberries made their frosting more gray than pink.

  • about 8 medium strawberries, frozen & thawed (I think they release more juice when they’re frozen… but I could be wrong.)
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, firm & slightly cold
  • pinch salt
  • 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. clear vanilla
  1. Puree your strawberries in a food processor. (I used a blender & ended up with some small chunks, rather than a completely smooth puree.)
  2. Cream butter & salt in stand mixer with paddle attachment until fluffy. Reduce speed & slowly add powdered sugar.
  3. Add vanilla & 3+ Tbsp. (to taste) puree; mix until just blended & even in color. Don’t overmix.

I'm Lovin' It at TidyMom   



6 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

6 responses to “Fresh strawberry frosting for heart cutout cookies.

  1. Mmmmm, I bet this is amazing. I can just imagine it on top of a chocolate cupcake.

  2. These are so cute and look delicious! I hope you will link them up to my I Heart Projects Linky Party.
    http://www.itsybitsypaperblog.com/2012/01/i-heart-projects-linky-party.html

  3. Yummy I would LOVE for you to stop over and link up in HAPPY FRIDAY- the theme is Valentine. Everyone who links up today will get a Pin from me on Pinterest! Hope you join in the tasty fun!

    Susie- http://cafescrapper-scrapsoflife.blogspot.com/2012/02/happy-friday-valentine-link-up.html

  4. That looks delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

  5. Mandy

    I tried this after finding this recipe on Martha a few years ago, but I didn’t think that it was strawberry-y enough. Maybe frozen strawberries would be better? I’ll give it another try though because your recipes have never failed me!

Leave a Reply

