Healthy & Festive Holiday Party Appetizer.

Need ideas for something a little outside the box to bring to your Christmas party this weekend?

My friend Bethany made this for a Christmas recipe exchange a few years ago, & I think I probably ate half of it on my own. It’s tasty, healthy, & festive-looking!

For each tree (16 rounds), here’s what you need:

  • 1 can crescent rolls
  • 4 oz. cream cheese (I use Neufchatel), softened*
  • 1/4 cup sour cream*
  • 1/2 tsp. dried dill weed*
  • 1/16 tsp. (just fill the 1/8 halfway) garlic powder*
  • assorted veggies in various shapes to “trim your tree”

* If you’re not a fan of dill, you can substitute 4 oz. Garden Veggie Cream Cheese plus 1/4 cup sour cream

  1. Preheat your oven to 375. Line a cookie sheet with parchment. Unwrap your crescent rolls, but do not unroll. Cut each of the 2 sections into 8 slices to get 16 slices total. (This was when I realized my knife needed sharpening. You may need to reshape your rounds to make them…er… round again.)
  2. Place your slices cut side down on the parchment to form a 5-row triangle & a single one at the bottom for a “trunk.”
  3. Bake 11-13 minutes or until golden.
  4. Combine cream cheese, sour cream, dill, & garlic powder in a small bowl. Spread over the tree (not the trunk), leaving a border around the outside to make it easier for people to pull some off. (Once the edge pieces are taken, people tend to get the general idea, so you don’t need to top each round individually.)
  5. “Trim your tree” with your veggies. Tip: start with your “greenery” (broccoli or snipped green onions). Then do the “star” (yellow pepper) & “garlands” (red pepper slices), & fit everything else around that. Don’t feel bound to the veggies I chose; go with what you love!
5 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

5 responses to “Healthy & Festive Holiday Party Appetizer.

  1. Laura

    Y.U.M. That’s all. Simply YUM!

  2. Bethany Reese

    I remember that night! I’m glad you still use the recipe. Looks great!

  3. Hi there! I just wanted to stop by and let you know that I’ve included this post in a recent list on my blog: 30+ Edible Christmas Trees {Sweets & Treats}. I’ve made sure to set a link so my viewers can find all of the details here!
    I hope you can check it out:
    http://sparklysharpandfabulous.blogspot.com/2012/12/edible-christmas-trees-sweets-and-treats.html#

    ❤ ❤ The Sparkle Queen

  4. I am including this in today’s Yummy Christmas Recipes post. We’re focusing on appetizers today. I will have a direct link back to your site and this post. Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Yummy Christmas Recipes- Appetizers | Xtreme Couponing With Dee Dee

Leave a Reply

