{Secret Recipe Club} Fried Chocolate & Banana Ravioli.

This month I got the privilege of perusing a fabulous blog Tea & Scones. Margaret posts so many amazing dishes that it took me longer to narrow down what I was going to make this month than it did to actually make what I finally chose! So what did I choose?

Anyone who’s been around here knows my weakness for Nutella & banana sandwiches. Add something Giada came up with that I can make with The Munchkin, & deep-fry it, & you get perfection. Also known as Giada’s Fried Chocolate & Banana Ravioli.

  • 3/4 cup bananas, quarter-inch dice*
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped walnuts
  • 20+ wonton wrappers (original recipe called for 16, but there’s plenty of filling for lots more)
  • 1 egg, beaten (if your kitchen helper is as “helpful” as mine, water would be a less salmonella-infested choice)
  • Nutella
  • vegetable oil, for frying

*The recipe says 1 medium banana, but it’s better to have 2, because your kitchen helper might have to steal some of it.

Probably better that way, because it’ll balance out the vast amounts of Nutella she’ll pilfer while you’re making your ravioli.

  1.  In a small bowl, combine the banana, brown sugar, & walnuts.
  2. Brush 2 edges of the wonton wrappers, then put a small amount of the Nutella (as much as I love Nutella, I found that less is more here — like 1/2 tsp.) in the center of each. Then top with a less-small amount (1 tsp. or so) of the banana mixture, taking care not to overfill.
  3. Fold the corner over to make a triangle & seal the edges, then refrigerate for 15 minutes. (We kind of skipped the refrigeration part & were fine, but I’m sure it works great.)
  4. Heat about 3/4 inch of the oil in a heavy-bottomed pot (I used my Le Creuset braiser) to 375 (or if you’re like me & don’t have a candy thermometer, follow Margaret’s handy-dandy tip & see if a cube of bread will brown in 2 minutes).
  5. Fry the ravioli a few at a time for about a minute a side. Place on paper towels to drain.
  6. Serve warm with a dusting of powdered sugar.

Tasty, tasty! Thank you, Margaret!
Secret Recipe Club

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes

11 responses to “{Secret Recipe Club} Fried Chocolate & Banana Ravioli.

  1. Well aren’t those just drool-worthy. They look amazing! I can’t wait to make them.

  2. I know how good this is. I have made something similar with chocolate and cream cheese. Now, I have to try the banana. So glad you made this.

  3. Yum, wish I had one of these right about now 🙂 Looks great!

  4. I’d love to bite into one of those, or two, or three . . .

  5. teaandscones

    I am excited you liked these. They were fun to make. I’d forgotten about them. Now I will have to go back and make them again. So easy and so tasty. Thanks for making them. Come back and see me sometime.

  6. ooooooh I love bananas and nutella! I bet this is a perfect treat!

  7. These look ridiculously delicious!

  8. Pingback: {nifty thrifty things} » {nifty thrifty sunday #35}

  9. Oooh, these look SO delicious!!
    I just wanted to let you know that you have been featured at this week’s {nifty thrifty sunday}!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa @ {nifty thrifty things}

  10. never would have thought to make a Chocolate & Banana Ravioli! what a great pick for SRC tho!

Leave a Reply

