Not Your Grandmother’s Pumpkin Pie.

Why? Because it’s my grandmother’s!

This is her “Milkless Pumpkin Pie,” but if I called it that you would think it was just some gross substitution for people with milk intolerances. The truth is, because it is milk-free, it’s undiluted — full of spice & flavor. Makes normal pumpkin pie taste bland by comparison.

My grandmother got this recipe from a short mid-morning program on channel 5 in Utah years ago that offered tips for housewives. One day the featured guest demonstrated this recipe, saying it was unique because this recipe required no milk. Then they cut to a break; the hostess began to introduce the sponsor, an evaporated milk company, saying how delicious this recipe would be with that company’s milk. The guest sputtered that it was a milkless pumpkin pie; she talked over him & they went to commercial.

I had never made a pie on my own in my life before attempting this one — hence the “interesting”-looking crust. I’ve never needed to because My Husband is The Pie Man. Every Thanksgiving he makes a pumpkin & a boysenberry pie, & they’re always delicious. I’ve included his perfect crust recipe below.

Milkless Pumpkin Pie (makes 1 pie)

  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. cloves
  • optional: add a pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup margarine, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin
  1. Make My Husband The Pie Man’s Perfect Flaky Crust, below, & lay it in a 9-inch pie plate.
  2. Preheat oven to 450. Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs as long as your arm will let you so that they’re light & frothy. Add margarine & pumpkin; mix until well blended.
  4. Add the dry ingredients & mix well.
  5. Pour into prepared unbaked pie shell. Bake at 450 for 10 minutes, then reduce the oven temp to 350 & continue baking 30-40 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean.

Perfect Flaky Crust (makes 1 crust; double it for a double-crust pie)

  • 1 cup flour (plus more if needed)
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp. cold water
  1. Combine flour, salt, & oil in a medium bowl with a fork. The dough should ball up nicely.
  2. Add water continue kneading with fork until fully incorporated.
  3. Add more flour a tablespoon at a time, if needed, until dough is the right consistency: not too sticky, not too dry.
  4. Place dough ball between 2 sheets of wax paper. Roll out until it’s really really thin & larger than the pie plate.
  5. Use a butter knife to gently free the dough from one of the sheets of wax paper.
  6. Place it, dough side down, into the pie plate & use the knife again to remove the other sheet.
  7. Make it look pretty around the outside. Nope, can’t help you there.

Come join Love the Pie with TidyMom  sponsored by Cherokee USA, Le Creuset, Wilton, Bags by Bloom and  Harvard Common Press

works for me wednesday at we are that family

36th Avenue

7 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

7 responses to “Not Your Grandmother’s Pumpkin Pie.

  1. Great pie! Love that it’s milk free.

  2. Looks good! Visit me at http://raisingdieter.blogspot.com/ for a giveaway and recipes!

  3. This looks really good! I’m always looking for a new pumpkin pie recipe other than the standard. Yum!

  4. Maile

    This looks delicious! I love the idea of enjoying the yummy pumpkin taste undiluted. And I am constantly amazed, Catherine, at all the delicious food you create. Cooking is not my passion, and I’m learning to accept that fact. I don’t really wish I were more like you – rather, I wish I were your next door neighbor that you wanted to share your extras with. 🙂

    • You’re so nice, Maile! The truth is, I am by no means a creator. I just like finding great recipes & letting people know about them! Sometimes I tweak them a little, but I am really not a no-recipe kind of gal. Thanks for the compliment though!

  5. Just found this this year! Made it with the pie man’s crust crust for a lactose intolerant friend of mine and she loved it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

