“I Bleed Blue” Cupcakes.

I’m pretty confident that every major university has a blood drive leading up to their big rivalry game with the tag line “Bleed {fill in team color here}.” How do I know this? I’ve attended or worked for — & bled for — three different universities in three different conferences.

As a freshman at Vanderbilt, I “bled gold.” As a first-time blood donor, I didn’t know you were supposed to eat a big breakfast beforehand. I walked outside to continue working on our float for the Homecoming Parade… & woke up in my dorm room bed at 6pm.

When I saw the light & transferred to BYU (Go Cougars! Beat Texas!), I “bled blue.” I was smarter by now & ate a big meal beforehand… but still bled so slowly that each of the other 3 beds went through 3 other donors before being done with me.

Then I worked for the Indiana University Alumni Association, where I “bled crimson.” Well, I think I did… I don’t have any recollection of anything weird happening, so I’m assuming it went well.

This year, I decided to let baked goods do the bleeding for me. Blue, of course. (Go Cougars! Beat Texas!)

These cupcakes are a cinch to pull together to show your friends & fellow fans your true colors. (Go Cougars! Beat Texas!) & they don’t involve needles, blood, or passing out! Juice & cookies afterwards would be a nice touch though.

  • White or yellow cupcake recipe or mix (I used my all-time favorite easy yellow cake recipe, which is quite pale & works very well for this)
  • 1 box (4 oz.) Jello in team color of choice (just use one or they’ll mix & not look too appetizing)
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • frosting
  1. Prepare your cupcakes as directed. Tip: don’t use foil cupcake liners. My only other option at Publix was pink, which I knew wouldn’t go over well. So plan ahead & visit Michael’s or something for some cuter paper cupcake liners that don’t stick to the cake & wind up getting swallowed by party guests. Oops.
  2. When they’ve cooled a little, poke each with a fork.
  3. Mix the Jello & boiling water; stir 2 minutes or until completely dissolved.
  4. Use a small spoon to carefully spoon the Jello into the fork holes in each cupcake.
  5. Chill 3 hours or until Jello is set.
  6. Frost as desired. I used this fabulous color swirl tutorial from Our Best Bites. Once I got the icing in the bags, it was seriously faster than my standard sloppy knife-frosting way, & so much prettier!

P.S. If you’re wondering where to get the awesome football platter, it was a fabulous $1 party-store find several years ago that has stuck with us every season since.

P.P.S. Go Cougars! Beat Texas!

Tidy Mom

Photobucket

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!

10 Comments

Filed under Recipes, Tutorials

10 responses to ““I Bleed Blue” Cupcakes.

  1. Laura

    They look yummy!! I’ll probably try this one day … thanks for giving the tips!

  2. Your cupcakes look delicious! I’d like to invite you to link up at my Friday Favorites party!

  3. Brooke

    Love It!
    Go Cougars. Beat Texas! HA HA.

  4. We’re rooting for BYU this weekend too!! Woot woot! How weird is it going to be to play Utah next weekend???

    ANYWAY, would LOVE for you to link these up to my Sweet Treats Party this weekend! Hope to see you there 🙂

    Ashton @ <a href="http://www.somethingswanky.com"<Something Swanky

  5. These are really cute! I love the blue and white colors together. And you are so right — we’re always using I bleed red and black (SDSU Aztec colors).

  6. they look awesome next week is homecoming here and I think I will make some using the color of purple as our colors are purple and white come see me at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  7. The blu looks absolutely poisonous ;), but swirls are amazing.

  8. I featured these today at my Sweet Treats Party!! Getting ready for the big game this weekend 🙂 Woot! Woot!

    Ashton
    Something Swanky

  9. Wendy C

    These are SO super cute! Great job!

Leave a Reply

