“It’s Shake & Bake {Potatoes}, & I helped!”

Anyone else remember those commercials? Well, these potatoes don’t use the Shake & Bake mix you buy at the store; you use your very own herbs & seasonings. This keeps the sodium level down — a plus! We seriously love these potatoes. The recipe first came from one of my Young Women’s leaders in — you guessed it — the ward cookbook! That thing is worth its weight in gold, I tell you what. Since then I’ve started customizing the spices to complement whatever meal I happen to be making. They’re delicious every time!

  • A couple lbs. of potatoes of your choice (we like reds & sweets), cut into 1-inch cubes (peel the sweet potatoes & russets first)
  • 1 med. onion, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (or enough to coat)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • seasonings of choice (see below)

Seasonings: The original recipe calls for approx. 2 Tbsp. dried rosemary & salt & pepper to taste. This way is delicious! So is using dill in its place. Tonight, though, I went with Herbes de Provence Sea Salt & my Steakhouse Grinder.

  1. Preheat your oven to 375. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Let your kitchen helper help you put the potato & onion chunks in a gallon Ziploc bag.
  3. Add garlic & olive oil. (You can add seasonings at this point too, but I prefer adding them later to keep it even & reduce the amount I use.)
  4. Let your kitchen helper shake it up!
  5. This is where I sprinkle on the seasonings evenly.
  6. Arrange in a single layer on your prepared baking sheet.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes or until fork-tender.

Let me know what seasonings you decide to use!

Tidy Mom

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!

5 Comments

Filed under Recipes

5 responses to ““It’s Shake & Bake {Potatoes}, & I helped!”

  1. Its fun when kids wants to help you in kitchen 🙂 Isn’t it
    My little girl is running around me to get chance to hold and move laddle once 🙂 I love to make tasty food for my family and share it with all world on my website. Check it out -> http://www.ChefDeHome.com
    I am sure you will like it.

  2. I remember Shake and Bake. I love the idea of doing it with potatoes! And Munchkin looks so cute and proud to be helping. Love it!

  3. Yum that sounds so good! I love Shake and Bake, but I especially love the idea of making it yourself! Yum! And how cute is your little girl – that is SO adorable that she wanted to help!

  4. what an adorable helper love your recipe and plan to try it with my little helpers come visit me at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

