Slow-cooked roast with carrots.

I may or may not still be avoiding using my oven. So here’s another slow cooker recipe for you!

I saw this recipe months ago over at Talkin’ Chow, Playin’ House, but never found a roast on sale enough to merit trying it.

Until now!

Now, this is definitely comfort food, so I wouldn’t blame you for waiting to try this until it cools off. It definitely seemed odd to me, seeing this out my window (we have a nature preserve right behind us, & it’s so humid that the windows fog up every morning) & then tossing a big, hearty roast into the Crock Pot. It’s a jungle out there! Literally! But oven vendettas are stronger than heat & humidity.

Whenever you do decide to give it a try, I promise you that you won’t be sorry. My only suggestion would be to season your roast more generously than the Martha recipe suggests (Yes! Even she isn’t perfect sometimes! There is hope for the rest of us!), because the beef tasted bland in comparison to the AWESOME carrots.

  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch (a little more if you want a thicker gravy at the end)
  • 2 Tbsp. cold water (or stock, if you’ve got a container already open; I used chicken broth)
  • 2 lbs. carrots, peeled & cut into thirds
  • 2 medium onions, each cut into 8 wedges
  • 3-lb. beef chuck or rump roast, fat trimmed
  • 2 Tbsp. (plus a splash) Worcestershire
  • salt & pepper, or seasoning of choice (I think a Steakhouse Seasoning grinder would do a fabulous job)
  1. Stir together cornstarch & water (or stock) in bottom of slow cooker until smooth, using a non-scratching utensil.
  2. Add carrots & onion to slow cooker. Season with salt & pepper; toss to combine.
  3. Season both sides of roast generously. Place on top of vegetables. Drizzle with Worcestershire.
  4. Cook on high 6 hours or low for 10 hours.
  5. When finished, slice thinly against the grain. (If you can! Mine was so tender it just shredded. Not the worst problem to have, right?)
  6. Place meat & veggies in a serving dish, then drizzle with the gravy & serve. Or serve the gravy on the side. (I found there wasn’t enough of it for the latter.) Yum!

Get Your Craft On Tuesdays

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Slow-cooked roast with carrots.

  1. This looks really good. Reminds me of my mom’s brisket recipe. I’ll be looking for a roast on sale now.

  2. I’m loving these roast recipes! Yum! And your food photography is amazing!

Leave a Reply

