No-fail banana bread. (With chocolate chips!)

I’ve posted a couple other recipes for ripe bananas, but this was the first. Meaning it preceded all other banana recipes. This has been my go-to staple for years, ever since my Aunt Becky (the one whose Christmas letter inspired my Painted Easter Cookies) gave me her ward’s cookbook as a wedding present. I’ve professed my love for ward cookbooks in the past, mainly for the reason that I know that the people submitting them have actually made them themselves, in a real kitchen, with small children underfoot. But even knowing that, I could never get banana bread right! With every new recipe I tried, it would always be charred on the outside before it was done on the inside. This was the first to be edible — indeed, tasty — so I’ve stuck with it the last five years. This time I decided to mix things up a little bit & add whole-wheat flour (to make it healthier) & chocolate chips (to counteract any undue healthiness).

  • 1 3/4 cup white/wheat flour blend (I just mixed together 1 cup all-purpose & 3/4 cup whole-wheat, but you could even use just all-purpose, since that’s what the original recipe, you know, asks for…), divided
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2-3 ripe bananas, mashed (Get your kids to do this! They’ll love you for it!)
  • 1/3 cup margarine, or butter-flavored shortening (I very rarely use anything but real butter in my cooking, so when I do, it’s for good reason.)
  • 2 Tbsp. milk (skim is fine)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup plus a little (okay, more than a little) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 & grease an 8x4x2 loaf pan.
  2. In bowl of electric mixer, combine 1 cup flour with sugar, baking powder, baking soda, & salt.
  3. Add mashed banana, margarine, & milk. Beat on low speed until blended; scrape sides of bowl.
  4. Beat on high for 2 minutes & scrape sides of bowl.
  5. Add eggs & remaining flour; beat just until incorporated. Mix in chocolate chips.
  6. Bake 53-70 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out with only a few moist crumbs.
  7. Cool in pan for 10 minutes, then remove from pan & cool completely before slicing. (Oh, who are we kidding here? Just make sure you use a sharp enough serrated knife & you’re golden.)
1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “No-fail banana bread. (With chocolate chips!)

  1. Haha I love the addition of chocolate chips to counteract the whole wheat flour – I’d do the same thing! Looks delicious! I can’t get enough banana bread and I’m happy to have a new recipe! Thanks so much for sharing!
    Star Hughes Living

Leave a Reply

