Chewy, Chunky Oatmeal Breakfast Bars.

First, I want to take a moment to give a Web shout-out to all of my dear friends (& readers!) in the Midwest & South. A possible tornado hit Bloomington, Indiana, where we spent three amazing years, & where The Munchkin was born. Reading my friends’ Facebook updates last night about tornado sirens, thunder, & hunkering down in the bathroom into the wee hours turned my stomach in knots. I’m just so grateful to know now that all of my friends are unharmed! I know that right now there are so many who aren’t so fortunate.

One of my fond memories of our time in Bloomington was an unlikely visiting teacher named Sue. (The LDS Church gives members the opportunity & responsibility to care for & serve one another by assigning them certain people to visit once a month & generally look out for.) I had never had a visiting teacher so different from me: I was a new mom; she was older & had no children. At first I had misgivings — how could we have anything in common to talk about? — but she served me so well at such a stressful time of my life that I knew it was meant to be.

One of those ways she served me was by bringing me these breakfast bars so I’d have a nutritious snack that was easy to munch on. They’re low in fat, high in protein & fiber, & seriously addictive!

(By the way, yes, I do recognize the fact that this makes 4 oatmeal recipes in a row here on Make Myself at Home. I seem to be on a bit of a kick lately. & I’m not the least bit sorry. Neither is My Husband The Volunteer Taste-Tester. Or The Munchkin, apparently…)

Sue’s Oatmeal Breakfast Bars

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 6 oz. fat-free vanilla yogurt (I used Yoplait Light Very Vanilla)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 2 Tbsp. skim milk
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil or applesauce (I used oil this time, only because I didn’t want to open a whole new applesauce container)
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. vanilla (I just used 1/2 since I used Very Vanilla yogurt)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour (or use just 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins &/or Craisins
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or use 1 cup of all raisins/Craisins… but where’s the fun in that?)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×13 pan.
  2. In a large bowl combine sugars & wet ingredients.
  3. In another bowl combine flours, baking soda, salt, & cinnamon.
  4. Add flour mixture to wet mixture; stir well.
  5. Stir in oats, fruit, chips, & nuts.
  6. Spread dough into bottom of prepared pan.
  7. Bake 22-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  8. Cool before cutting & enjoying.

Do you have any dishes that bring back fond memories of old friends or places you lived?

Tidy Mom


Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!

9 Comments

Filed under Healthy living, Recipes

9 responses to “Chewy, Chunky Oatmeal Breakfast Bars.

  1. These look FANTASTIC! I’ll have to figure out a few substitutions with the whole not-available-in-China thing, but I’m excited to try it. Hope your friends are okay, we’ve been praying for the U.S.

  2. I love how healthy these are. Thanks for linking up with sweet tooth Friday!

  3. My husband loves all things oatmeal-based … so these are definitely on the list! Thanks for the recipe!

    xox Lexi
    Glitter & Pearls

  4. Thanks for linking these to Recipes To Run On. I’m bookmarking this to make with my kiddos this summer. They will make great breakfasts or snacks. Have a super weekend!

  5. YUM! oh my goodness these look great! I love your blog! I would love it if you would check out my blog too!
    -Nikki
    http://chef-n-training.blogspot.com/

  6. Oooh these look great!! I’m loving all these oatmeal recipes – can’t get enough of them! Lucky Munchkin and hubby!!
    -Star
    Star Hughes Living

  7. Amy

    Thanks! Can’t wait to try these. I need to find great grab-n-go breakfast for the kidlets!
    xoxo
    amy

Leave a Reply

