The Secret Weapon: Fudgy Wudgies.

While I’m off getting my husband graduated & gallivanting all over Manhattan like a tourist (a rain-soaked, caught-in-a-downpour-in-Times-Square-in-Chucks-that-have-yet-to-dry tourist), Momo has agreed to post my MOST FAVORITE recipe of hers. I never bought evaporated milk before she introduced me to these. They will change your life. I promise. (& maybe your pants size too.) (In a good way.)

Alicia was one of my roommates my freshman year of college. She came to school armed with good looks, a fun personality and a Secret Weapon for catching boys: Fudgy Wudgies.  A delicious, buttery, oatmeal ‘n’ fudge bar cookie that almost no one can resist.

Luckily, Alicia and I became best friends and she shared the recipe with me. Then taught me how to cook. Now that we are both happily married she has agreed that the recipe for this Secret Weapon can now be shared for the greater good. Consider yourselves very lucky. I know I am to have such a wonderful friend and a bootleg copy of her family’s cookbook. Buddy, where would I be without you?

Alicia’s Fudgy Wudgies

(Fudgy refers to the gooey chocolatey filling and Wudgy refers to the oatmeal cookie component)

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9″x13″ baking dish.

The Fudgy

Combine and melt in the microwave for 1 minute on high:

  • 1 package of semisweet chocolate chips (12 oz)
  • 1/4 cup evaporated milk (in a pinch you can use reg milk)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter

Stir until smooth, then add 1 tsp vanilla.  Set aside.

Next step: the Wudgy

Cream until fluffy:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups brown sugar

Beat in until well mixed:

  • 2 eggs

Add:

  • 1 tsp vanilla

Then gradually mix in:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt

Stir in:

  • 3 cups quick or old-fashioned oats (depends on your texture preference)

Spread 2/3 of the Wudgy mixture in the bottom of the pan. Spread Fudgy over the top (do not scrape the bowl completely clean, you will regret it).

Drop small chunks of Wudgy over the top, leaving some of the chocolate layer exposed.

You will probably have a little bit of Wudgy left over. Save it. Put Fudgy Wudgies in oven and bake for 25-30 minutes.

Now for the best part: dip some of the leftover Wudgy into the Fudgy and eat. Repeat until you have cleaned both bowls.

Fudgy Wudgies take a while to cool and set up so that they can be cut without a fudgy landslide. Plan on at least an hour before cutting into bars, or longer if you are plating them to take to friends. Also plan on being the recipient of many compliments and/or offers of marriage.

Tidy Mom

11 Comments

Filed under Posted by Momo, Recipes

11 responses to “The Secret Weapon: Fudgy Wudgies.

  1. Oh yummy. I wish I have a slice of that 🙂

  2. Oh this recipe sounds pretty heavenly!
    I think my family would LOVE it!
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  3. Ha! I love the name.

    Thanks for linking up with Sweet Tooth Friday.

  4. So that’s the secret weapon huh? I better make that immediately! Looks DELICIOUS, and a mix of all my favorite things. Yum!

  5. what a great combination!!! and i like the name 🙂

  6. Wow! These look incredibly decadent (fattening – nah)… Glad I found you from the Thrifty Nifty Linky. I posted something too! Hugs, Antonella 🙂

  7. I have found that in my oven the perfect time for these is 23 minutes. These are the best and one of the reasons my husband did propose!

    • Thanks so much for letting us share these with the world, Alicia! We were already married by the time we were introduced to these, but they’re my husband’s favorite treat. In my gas oven, which is calibrated a little low, 27-28 minutes works best for me.

  8. Laura

    Made these for bunko last night and everyone loved them! Definitely yummy!

  9. Hmm.. This looks SO delicious!!
    Thank you so much for linking up to {nifty thrifty sunday}!
    I hope to see you again tomorrow!
    xoxo,
    Vanessa

  10. Yikes keep this away from me otherwise my jeans will haunt you forever 😉
    Looks delicious!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

