Sweet-n-Savory Meatballs.

This recipe is a copycat from The Lion House, a restaurant & historic site on Temple Square in Salt Lake City. I have very fond memories of visiting there with my Grandma & filling up on their delicious rolls, but always saving room for the chocolate silk pie!

My friend Mandy gave me this recipe, & she got it from somewhere else before that, but the first couple of times I made it, it didn’t taste quite the same as I remembered at The Lion House. So I’ve adjusted it a little; hopefully it’s a little closer to the real thing, which you should definitely try (or anything on their delicious menu) if you’re in the neighborhood.

For the meatballs:

  • 1 to 1 1/4 lbs. lean ground beef
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats (not quick)
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • scant 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. worcestershire sauce
  • a few shakes or grinds pepper

Combine ingredients in mixer bowl. Mix until well blended, but do not over-mix or the meat will get tough. Form into 24 or more balls, each about 1 1/2 inches, & place in baking dish. (For a family of 3-4, you can split the recipe in half: put half the meatballs in a foil pan, add the sauce [below], cover with foil, place in a Ziploc freezer bag, & freeze for later. Just put the foil pan in the fridge 24 hours before cooking to defrost, then cook as usual [below].)

For the sauce:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp. prepared yellow mustard
  • 1/2 cup barbecue sauce (not hickory)
  • 2 tsp. worcestershire sauce

Combine ingredients in large saucepan & bring to a boil while mixing well. (Mustard may not incorporate entirely.) Pour over meatballs in pan. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Serve over rice.

11 Comments

Filed under Recipes

11 responses to “Sweet-n-Savory Meatballs.

  1. Deb

    These look great, I’ve springpad’d it to make sometime, the sauce sounds delicious!!!

  2. Yum, these look amazing! I’ve only had meatballs with marinara sauce on them but these look fantastic, especially with the rice too! I can’t wait to try this recipe out!!

  3. Leah

    This looks really good! I see an upcoming dinner idea, which I really needed too.

  4. Can’t wait to try this recipe. Wondering why not Hickory bbq sauce? Is the flavoring too strong for the dish?

  5. Laura

    We tried these last night and they were yummy!! They were a little on the sweet side for us – we used honey bbq so that may have attributed to it. I also packed my brown sugar … do you do that? That may also have attributed to the extra sweetness. Of course, they ARE sweet and savory meatballs, so I should expect the sweet, right? 🙂

    • We use honey bbq too because we like the sweetness, & I do pack my brown sugar. Next time try a half cup of cider vinegar; that’s the way the recipe came to me, but I thought it was too vinegary for my taste, so that’s why I changed it… maybe it’ll suit your taste better!

  6. Angela

    I found this recipe via Google and I’m glad because it was delicious! I sub’d onion powder for onions and tomato sauce for bbq and it was still amazing.

  7. i’m going to try this recipe, thanks =)

  8. Barbara Ence

    super yummy!!! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  9. Hi there I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was researching on Digg for something
    else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post
    and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when
    I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please
    do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

