Hamburger Vegetable Soup.

We’re sick. It’s raining. This calls for soup.

We’re not a big chicken soup family, so this is my go-to when we’re feeling crummy. It’s quick (less than 30 min.), delicious, & uses ingredients that I almost always have on hand. Plus, it has chicken broth in it, which is feeling great on my raw throat right now, but doesn’t have that chicken soup taste that reminds me of months of morningsickness.

My good friend Wendy found this on AllRecipes & brought it to us when I wasn’t feeling well. I asked for the recipe & then adjusted it to fit our tastes & family size a little better, & she actually prefers this version! This will serve 4; double it if you have a larger family.

  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 (1 oz.) envelope dry onion soup mix
  • 1 small (8 oz.) can tomato sauce (if doubling, just use a 15-oz. can)
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped (we ran out; pretend there’s celery in my picture)
  • (I omit the onion it calls for because it’s plenty oniony with the soup mix. So that was on purpose, in case you’re looking at the original recipe & wondering.)
  • 8 to 12 oz. frozen mixed vegetables
  • 1/2 lb. ground beef
  • 1 cup pasta (I used rotini & farfalle tonight, but our favorite is the Ronzoni kind with a full serving of veggies in every ounce. If you’re using smaller pasta, like elbow macaroni, use less.)
  1. Bring all but the last two ingredients to a boil in a large stock pot. This takes awhile, so that’s why I start it first.
  2. Meanwhile, brown the ground beef in a saute pan. Season it well (I love this Garlic Pepper Seasoning) & drain it.
  3. When the soup is boiling, add the ground beef & pasta, then simmer until the pasta is al dente.

What do you make when The Plague takes over your house? Anyone else out there have a pregnancy-induced soup aversion?

8 Comments

Filed under Recipes

8 responses to “Hamburger Vegetable Soup.

  1. Leah

    This looks really great. I’m always looking for quick and easy new soup recipes. I’ll be trying this one out. Thanks!

  2. Ugh I feel you on the soup aversion.
    This looks really good though! I wish I had read it earlier in the week when it was rainy and cold here.

    When we are sick we like plain foods. Pasta with butter, chicken noodle soup, or for me, black beans and white rice.

  3. Ooh, yum! This looks great. And I was so happy to see just 3 steps – that is definitely doable! I can’t wait to make it!

  4. Maureen

    I have a pregnancy-induced aversion to saltine crackers and that “french” bread you get at the grocery store. Yuck! But not to soup, so I will try this one!

  5. Wendy C

    Yeah for easy and yummy soup!

  6. missy

    I realized I never wrote that I love this soup! I’m making it for my dinner swap tomorrow! and I’m going to “pin” it so that the love spreads!:) thanks!

Leave a Reply

