Conference Weekend.

General Conference is this weekend! Twice a year, the prophet & apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints speak to all of the members of the church, all over the world, about the Savior, issues we’re facing in the world, & generally just how to be better people.

President Thomas S. Monson, the prophet

It’s something I look forward to every April & October — & not just because it means getting to sit on the sofa for church! I enjoy feeling the Spirit brought by the talks & hyms, & using it as a semiannual opportunity to gauge my progress & what I need to be working on.

It’s a very special time, full of fun family traditions. One new tradition I’m starting this year is having a taste of Utah for dinner, namely Cafe Rio! I found some great recipes for their pork barbacoa, cilantro-lime rice, black beans, & the best ranch dressing ever at Favorite Family Recipes. (You wouldn’t believe what I had to go through to find tomatillos out here!) We also like to have cinnamon rolls for breakfast, but I totally forgot to buy the Pillsbury ones today & I don’t have any yeast, so I guess we’ll have to wait until October for that & just have pancakes instead.

Sometimes it’s hard to listen to the talks with The Munchkin running around, though, so I found these great Conference activity packets at Sugardoodle to keep her quiet & focused, but still having fun. They have packets for every age group from Nursery up to adults! You should totally check it out.

What are you most looking forward to this Conference weekend? Does your family have any fun traditions or tips for helping everyone pay attention?

1 Comment

Filed under Activities

One response to “Conference Weekend.

  1. Barbara

    Oh my! I had NO idea those activity packets existed!! How awesome! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

