Rainbow cupcakes for a colorful birthday party.

Sometimes you get so excited about something that you make an entire party out of it. For The Munchkin’s first birthday party, it was this rainbow cake tutorial I saw on Hostess with the Mostess before she was even born. I’d forgotten about it, & then I was nursing in the middle of the night when The Munchkin was like 6 or 7 months old when it hit me.

I built her entire color wheel birthday party around these cupcakes. How can you not when you see these colors?

After my unfortunate luck with Elmo, I made sure to use a higher-quality white cake mix & made the whole-egg recipe for the batter. That way the batter would still be white enough to dye, but the cupcakes wouldn’t be so crumbly & insubstantial. I made two boxes for 48 cupcakes, & measured the batter into 6 equal parts. Then I lined the muffin tins with cute colorful polka-dot cupcake papers we got at Hobby Lobby (we also got coordinating plates, napkins, & cupcake toppers there) & proceeded to spoon each color into each paper, starting with the purple, a teaspoon at a time. 6 colors times 48 cupcakes equaled THREE HOURS of work. But they sure looked cool when they came out!

We just spread white buttercream on the top & sprinkled them with rainbow jimmies. Now that I have my Wilton D3 tip, I’ll be able to make my cupcakes prettier in the future! But this worked just fine, & didn’t detract from the toppers.

…or the surprise inside!

Tomorrow I’ll post the full details of the color wheel party, but until then, here’s how we displayed them:

Get excited! See you tomorrow!

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Rainbow cupcakes for a colorful birthday party.

  1. Absolutely adorable. Coolest cupcakes, thanks for sharing. It’s the middle of the night here and I suddenly have the urge to make these. The Circus will love them!

  2. How freakin’ cute are these?! I must make them! 🙂

  3. leahsinger

    So cute! I did the same thing for my daughter’s 3rd birthday. People go crazy for them. You can see mine here: http://leahsthoughts.com/2010/11/09/over-the-rainbow-to-sophies-3rd-birthday/

  4. This is my first time i visit here. I found so many entertaining stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

