Skinny banana bread.

I recently overcame the denial brought on by 15 months of nursing & came to the realization — only 6 months late — that I actually do need to watch what I’m eating. There are only so many ways to explain away the tightness of one’s jeans… “They just came out of the dryer; they’ll stretch back out.” (Putting them on again 2 mornings later…) “Crap.”

So I’ve been cutting calories, limiting treats, & finding ways to lighten up or “healthify” foods that I enjoy. I also went out & bought my first-ever bag of whole-wheat flour. Gasp! I know.

I had some bananas mottling on the counter (you may have seen them in the background of pictures of my daughter giddily sloshing Rice Krispies from here to Shanghai — that was for you, Karen!), so I decided my “maiden” whole-wheat substitution recipe would be Skinny Banana Bread from Paper Crafts Gourmet, a cookbook with accompanying craft projects (parties, cards, wrapping ideas, etc.) that my aunt-in-law (is that a thing?) & neighbor found at our local A.C. Moore for 5 bucks. Bargain!

It’s almost entirely fat-free, but thanks to the heartiness of the whole wheat it tastes substantial & fills you up! It’s also moist, & yes, tasty! Though mine would’ve been more flavorful if I’d had all 3 bananas they called for; I only had 2 1/3.

  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup white flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg (in banana bread? I was a little skeptical too, but it totally worked, & it made my house smell amazing while it was baking!)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup applesauce (1/3 cup if you have large bananas)
  • 1/3 cup walnuts (optional — I used them for the added protein)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease a loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. Mix dry ingredients & wet ingredients in separate bowls.
  3. Combine, mixing just until dry ingredients are moistened. Stir in nuts, if desired.
  4. Pour into prepared pan & bake 55 minutes or until knife comes out clean.

7 Comments

Filed under Healthy living, Recipes

7 responses to “Skinny banana bread.

  1. Momo

    Hooray! I was just contemplating the best use for my old bananas. Thank you for supplying one! I usually make Joy of Cooking banana muffins and they have nutmeg and are delicious! So I am excited to try this bread recipe.

  2. vblanchard

    I nursed for 14.5 months! I lost weight while nursing, but I’ve continued to lose since . . . I just read French Women Don’t Get Fat, which sums up (and adds to) a lot of the mental changes I’ve made about food in the recent past. I highly recommend it!

  3. Momo

    This was the only banana bread I have ever made that was done inside without burning the outside. Woo! It tastes delicious, and since it’s light, I don’t have to feel bad about putting butter on it. Of course not what you wanted to hear. Sorry!

  4. I’ve been craving banana bread and now that I’m home from school and have access to a full kitchen, I was finally able to bake some! I used this recipe with a few substitutions, and LOVED it! I blogged about it, and would love if you read it!

  5. Dana

    Very tasty and I love that it’s rich in flavor without having to add oil or butter! My 21 month old kept wanting more so this is definitely a keeper!

  6. Taylor

    I loved the flavor, but it did not bake right for me 😦 It was cooked on the outside but completely mushy on the inside and hard to cut. Your picture looks like it rose and was nice and bread-y. Any idea what I might have done wrong?

    • Taylor, I had that problem all the time until I switched loaf pans. Maybe your pans are too thick (my problem was that they were cheap). Try different pans and see if it works that way. Sorry it didn’t work out this time!

Leave a Reply

