Miracle stew.

 This stew, originally from Betty Crocker, then tweaked & handed down by my sister-in-law Lisa, then tweaked again by me, is delicious. It’s the kind of stew you eat with a fork. We love it.

But as great as it is, this stew isn’t the miracle. The miracle is what happened a couple months ago when I planned to make it for Sunday dinner.

We were having a couple people over, so I planned to make the stew with a little extra meat (they were guys who were coming, after all), some Rhodes rolls (Haven’t heard of them? Go to your freezer section & thank me later.), & oatmeal raisin cookies for dessert. You can make this stew in either the Crock Pot or on the stove, but we were in a hurry to get to church that morning, so I elected to go the stovetop route & start when we got home. Dinner was to be at 5:30. Our church ends at 1. The stew takes about 3 1/2 hours. No problem!

Problem. My husband had a meeting after church that went until well after 2. We live 20 minutes away from the church & only have 1 car, so I was sitting there in the foyer with a hungry & nap-overdue Munchkin, checking my watch every 12 seconds. Plus, the family that was supposed to have the missionaries over for dinner that night had to cancel at the last minute, so rather than force them to resort to ramen on the one night a week that they get a homecooked meal, I volunteered to pinch-hit. That made two more hungry male dinner guests around the table.

All afternoon I worried, stressed, & prayed. I don’t generally pray over my food apart from blessing it before we eat it, but that day I did. Please let it turn out okay even though I’m baking it at a higher temp & fudging the ingredient ratios. Please let it come out on time. Please let there be enough. I didn’t know how I was going to feed everyone, on time, with the ingredients I had purchased. But here’s the miracle: I did. Dinner was only about 15 minutes late, & we had the exact right amount of stew — everyone ate their fill, & there was only one bit of onion left. That’s the miracle.

So with a good Betty Crocker recipe and a whole lot of divine intervention, I fed 5 grown men, myself, & my Munchkin on this amazing stew. I can’t promise that miracles will occur when you make this, but here’s the recipe in case you want to give it a try. Definitely let me know if something miraculous does happen to you when you make it!

  • 1 lb.+ (I usually use 1.5) stew beef, cubed
  • 1 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 bag baby carrots, or 1/2 lb. carrots, peeled & cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 can beef broth
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • (1 can diced tomatoes, undrained — I don’t use this because we like it thick)
  • scant 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. marjoram
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper, or more to taste (we use more)
  • 1 1/2 lbs. small red potatoes, quartered
  1. Heat oven to 325.
  2. Mix all ingredients except potatoes in a Dutch oven or other large oven-safe pot.
  3. Cover & bake 2 hours; stir.
  4. Stir in potatoes.
  5. Cover & bake 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

Crock Pot directions: Increase flour to 1/2 cup & decrease tomato sauce by half. Mix ingredients except beef (it helps to mix the liquid ingredients with the flour first so that you don’t get lumps) in bottom of slow cooker. Add beef on top. Cook on low 8-9 hours.

works for me wednesday at we are that family

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Miracle stew.

  1. I adore the story behind this- and I can heartily agree- nothing’s better than stew for a hungry family (and guests!) Great post. 🙂

  2. That’s a great story! Funny how things work out, isn’t it? The stew looks absolutely yummy!

  3. Lauren from Texas

    Love the story behind this!!!! Glad it worked!!!!!! And glad the missionaries got a homecooked meal! I always worry about them, young men away from home and with no time to cook I pray for their nutritional intake!

  4. My mom made a stew very similar to this when I was growing up! I’m not sure that ANYONE would have enough stew if I got my hands on it! 😉 I’m glad everything worked out for you– no pressure like being the hostess, right?

Leave a Reply

