Veggie latkes.

We’re supposed to eat at least 5 servings of fruits & veggies a day. Everyone knows that. But do you really know exactly how many servings you’re actually getting? I thought I was doing pretty well until I actually started going to the effort of tallying them.

Let’s just say we’re working a lot harder at that now.

Enter the veggie latke, or “Little Vegetable Fritter,” as my Williams-Sonoma Cooking for Baby cookbook calls them. But they’re too flat be be fritters in my opinion. That’s why I’ve renamed them latkes (I almost said “re-christened,” but that would have been horribly, tastelessly ironic).

I’ve raved about Cooking for Baby before, & recently decided to revisit it for some more lunch ideas. I love that the toddler food is sophisticated enough that I’ll eat it! This particular recipe is great to involve your little ones in making. The blend of veggies is flavorful, but not so much so that your picky eater will thumb his nose at it (especially if he likes 1 of the 2 vegetables), & we all know that a little fat helps make healthy things a lot more appetizing. Here’s the recipe, with a couple tweaks I made just for simplicity’s sake.

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1 large zucchini
  • 2 Tbsp. cornstarch*
  • 1 cup minus 2 Tbsp. flour*
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 Tbsp. (may need a little more) canola oil
  • sour cream or mustard for dipping, optional

* The recipe calls for 1 cup corn flour, but I don’t have that, nor do I foresee myself having that in the near future. So I just put 2 Tbsp. cornstarch in a cup measure & filled it the rest of the way with all-purpose flour. It worked just fine.

  1. Preheat oven to 250. (This step is optional; it’s for keeping the fritters warm between batches. But The Munchkin’s food needs to be cooled before she eats it anyway, so I dispensed with this.)
  2. Peel & grate sweet potato. Grate zucchini, leaving skin on. You will have about 1 cup of each. (Wrap grated vegetables in a clean kitchen towel or paper towels & gently squeeze to extract as much liquid as possible.) Transfer to medium mixing bowl. (That one step is in parentheses because I didn’t do it. I just had The Munchkin put it straight into the bowl as I grated. She was happy to do it, it saved me a step & lots of paper towels, & the fritters weren’t too squishy or anything.)
  3. In a small bowl, combine cornstarch, flour, & baking powder. Season with salt & pepper.
  4. Add egg to veggies. Then add flour mixture & stir until just combined.
  5. In a large frying pan over medium to medium-high heat, heat oil. Scoop out heaping tablespoonfuls of batter, form into balls with wet hands, & flatten into cakes.
  6. Cook in batches, turning once, until brown & crisp, 2-3 minutes each. Use a slotted spoon to lift cakes out of pan, allow oil to drip back into the pan, & then transfer to paper towels to drain.
  7. Place on baking sheet in 250-degree oven to keep warm until all fritters are made. Repeat steps 5-7 for all of batter.
  8. Serve with sour cream or mustard for dipping, or just by themselves!
4 Comments

Filed under Healthy living, Recipes

4 responses to “Veggie latkes.

  1. Maureen

    I made these tonight and they were delicious! I had to use yellow squash instead of zucchini because that was what I had on hand but it worked great. My kids loved them with ketchup. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. yum! I’m going to try these. I made some zucchini pancakes from ina garten, but they were a flop.

  3. If only I liked veggies!

  4. pam

    Thanks for posting this. I have the Cooking for Baby cookbook and really, really needed to see some pics, so thanks. I had no idea what a fritter was. *blush* My 2yo son will love these w/ ketsup esp if I let him help make them!

Leave a Reply

