Murphy’s brownies.

Let me begin by stating the following:
The pile drivers in the construction site behind us have been clanging deafeningly & continuously for weeks.
Thanks to a hangup with our car registration, our tags are expired & we haven’t been able to drive anywhere for a week & a half. & we’re running out of food in our cabinets.
I’m in charge of putting together our church congregation’s talent show, which is this Saturday.
Today is my husband’s long day at class, made even longer by a makeup class the professor decided to schedule for tonight until 8.
I’m on Week 2 of no sugar… & I’m a stress eater.
And yesterday The Munchkin decided to get sick.

Suffice it to say, my sanity is hanging by a thread.

Today I was working on signs for the talent show, when The Munchkin decided to wake up from her nap after only 40 minutes. Murphy was really piling it on today, wasn’t he?

Late this afternoon I sent my husband an email. The subject line was “say a prayer for us.”

Even though she promised to go to sleep after “Nemo” (we shook on it & everything), she of course didn’t. I’ll choose to thank the pile drivers for choosing that exact moment to STOP being quiet. I literally started beating my head with my hands. At any rate, she was wired & asking for cookies. I gave her some Teddy Grahams & realized that, rather than resort to self-abuse to retain my sanity, I got the brilliant idea that she & I could bake something together. It would take up time, & I could get some sugar in my veins. We have no brown sugar, so cookies were out of the question, but we could make brownies in a regular mixing bowl so she could help & wouldn’t be afraid of the mixer noise. I went online & found a recipe with cocoa powder & we got to work. It called for melted butter, so I shoved it in the microwave… & it exploded. Didn’t know butter could do that! Meanwhile, as usual, Munchkin was emptying the drawers. While I was wiping molten butter out of the inside of the microwave, she must’ve pulled too hard because she fell backwards off of the stepstool. I was quick enough to keep her from whacking her head on the floor too hard, but still. This was going awesome.

It did get better though. She enjoyed helping me mix & make a huge mess of the cocoa powder. As I was pouring the batter into the pan she stuck her whole hand, fingers spread, into the batter in the pan. She didn’t realize she could lick her fingers, so she proceeded to… wipe it on me. Looks like I should start wearing aprons more often for my own protection. She eventually did figure out she could lick her fingers, but I got her to wash her hands before she consumed too much raw egg. Because salmonella would be an AWESOME addition to this week. Just in case, I licked a hefty amount of batter myself, so I’ll know to expect it if she gets it. (Just so you know, I was planning on setting a good example & not eating the batter for once.)

Please say a prayer we survive even until 7.

I love you tons! I hope that this entertained you in class a little. I can’t WAIT to see you tonight, relax, eat brownies (maybe with ice cream!) & watch “White Collar!”

So I’m off the wagon sugar-wise, but at least I’m sane & The Munchkin survived the rest of the day just fine (though apparently quite blurry… thanks auto-focus) on 40 minutes of sleep.

You’ve stuck with me this long, so you deserve to see the recipe & a pretty picture. The brownies were tasty & just the right fudginess, so at least 1 good thing (besides this totally AWESOME blog post, of course) came out of the ordeal! I found the recipe here & used most of the modifications from the first comment.

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 3/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease bottom of 8-inch square pan.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together butter, applesauce, sugar, & vanilla. Beat in eggs. Add dry ingredients & mix well.
  3. Bake 30 minutes or until brownies are done in the middle & just start to pull away from sides of pan.
  4. Let cool several minutes before cutting & enjoying.

Chocolate solves a multitude of problems, doesn’t it?

So, how was your day?

7 Comments

Filed under Adventures in Mommydom, Recipes

7 responses to “Murphy’s brownies.

  1. You poor thing. It looks like you have been through the ringer today. I hope tomorrow is better 🙂

    Once you have a car you should find some paint with water books for the munchkin…Mason is in heaven and I think Abi would LOVE them. Plus it is like painting with zero mess.

  2. vblanchard

    Laugh out loud funny. In a “I’m sorry for you as only the mother of another 20-month-old daughter can be” kind of way. Hang in there!

  3. Barbara

    I am making this right now! It will bake while I work out…or maybe I’ll just lick the bowl while it bakes 🙂
    BTW, we too LOVE white collar…I just got into it, Ken’s been into it since the beginning. I had issues with Bryce Larkin. I don’t like him. But I like Neil Caffery! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. I think we can all relate to “one of those days! Hope this weekend is better. Brownies seem like a great way to course~correct and this recipe sounds great! Thanks for linking to Saturday Swap!!!

  5. LOL! I agree chocolate fixes everything. 🙂 Just came over from the Saturday Swap on Quit Eating Out. Have a great weekend.

  6. Kelsey Jepsen

    I particularly love the details in your blogging. The “Grumpy Day bear” makes all the difference. You REALLY have a talent for putting the pen to paper or in this case the well manicured fingers to small raised keys 🙂 Try the sweet potato recipe. You’ll LOVE it. Tell hubbo it’s not to potatoe-y.

  7. Pingback: Recipes | Anna's Granny

Leave a Reply

