Valentine’s breakfast.

Almost no effort, & so cute! (Yes, I know I should’ve gone with the pink plate, but a certain small human was getting hungry.)

Heart-shaped Egg in a Hole

  1. Heat a nonstick pan over medium heat.
  2. Use a cookie cutter to cut a heart shape out of the middle of a piece of whole-grain bread.
  3. Melt about a teaspoon of butter in your pan, distributing it evenly.
  4. Place the piece of bread into the pan & fill the hole with egg. I scrambled my egg in a small bowl first because runny yolks creep me out, & since I was using regular sandwich bread I only used half of the egg in each slice. But you could use Texas Toast & a sunny-side-up egg if it doesn’t give you panic attacks.
  5. After a minute or two, when the egg is set on the bottom, carefully flip your toast. Place the heart shape you cut out in the pan too so it can toast as well.
  6. Enjoy a balanced Valentine’s breakfast with a glass of milk & some of I am Mommy’s ingeniously festive heart-shaped strawberries! Just make sure you use the pink plate.
3 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

3 responses to “Valentine’s breakfast.

  1. What a perfect, but simple V-day breakfast idea. I think I’ll have to make this for my husband! So cute!

  2. Another cute idea. Can’t wait to try it. I can actually get bread and eggs in China. I’ll just need to hand cut the heart shape. Yay! Happy Valentines to you and your sweet family. xoxo, K

  3. Maureen

    I can’t wait to try this!

Leave a Reply

