How I got my man.

Don’t have a valentine this year? Here’s how to get one before Monday.

It’s a well-known fact that the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach, but nowhere is that aphorism taken more to heart than Provo, Utah. When I first got there, I was told — in all seriousness too — that the way to get a date was to bake cookies. But Provo guys get sick of cookies after awhile. Lucky for me, I was one of the few girls in my complex who could cook something other than dessert. It’s how my husband agreed to let our mutual friend set us up on our blind date.

A week or two after that first date, the time came that I needed to prove that I really was as good a cook as he had been promised.

No pressure.

So I decided to make something that only took 3 or 4 ingredients, but that looked impressive & was one of my favorite dishes that my mom made growing up. Think of it as the quick Mormon version of Chicken Madiera. We call it Apple Juice Chicken now, but if you really want to impress your man, use the foreign-sounding name.

He loved it. It’s still his favorite. And now you know how I tricked my husband into marrying me.

Virgin Chicken Madiera, alias Apple Juice Chicken

  • about 1/3 cup flour
  • about 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • about 1-2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1 can Golden Mushroom soup
  • 1/2 can apple juice (or more if you need more sauce)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine flour & paprika in a shallow dish & spread evenly.
  3. Heat oil in a stove- & oven-safe pot with lid (I use a LeCreuset braiser).
  4. Dredge chicken breast halves in flour & place in oil. Brown both sides.
  5. Remove chicken from pot & remove pot from heat. Add soup & apple juice. Return pot to heat & bring mixture to boiling, making sure to break up any lumps.
  6. Turn off the heat again & submerge the chicken. Cover with lid & put in the oven for 40 minutes or until done through.
  7. Serve over rice.
  8. Wait for your just-a-friend to ask you out, or for your boyfriend to propose to you. (You may be waiting 8 months… cough cough… but it’ll come. Trust me.)

What’s your sweetheart’s favorite dish that you make?

4 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

4 responses to “How I got my man.

  1. Best recipe EVER. Thanks for sharing, Catherine. I loved making this in the US. Alas, they don’t sell golden mushroom soup in China. I’d be grateful if you could figure something out for me. They sell chicken, rice, apple juice and mushrooms. 😉 xoxo, K

  2. Maureen

    This post reminds me of Debra’s lemon chicken on Everybody Loves Raymond….except you can cook other things too!

  3. Barbara

    I am TOTALLY going to make this! 🙂

  4. Wendy C

    I’m excited to try this, Mandy told me it was wonderful. Do you think you will post your fritatta recipe?

Leave a Reply

