Love your heart, curry style

As promised, here is the first of what I hope to be many contributor posts from talented friends who’ve taught me a thing or two about domesticity. I first met “Momo,” as her firstborn writes her name, in Indiana when our husbands were both toiling away in law school. Countless late-night board game sessions & a couple trips to the Monroe County Fair later (trust me, it’s an experience), I consider her my very best friend. We’re conspiring to move to the same city so we can be neighbors again, but until the planets align to make that happen, she & her family are living in smalltown Idaho. She’s a fabulous cook; some of my favorite recipes are hers, written down on “High School Musical” stationery. I know you’ll love them too — even without Zac Efron smiling back at you as you read!

I can’t help thinking of that old ditty about beans being good for your heart as I share this recipe.  Heart health has become an important issue in our family recently, so the “heart” part of Valentine’s Day will take on new meaning for our holiday eating this year!  While we will still be having the occasional yummy treat or two, we will be eating healthier overall.

This recipe is one I have been making for over a year and that is well loved by all of us, #1 and #2 included.  It is perfect for this time of year when cauliflower is abundant and inexpensive.  I have eliminated any added salt to make it healthier, and for us the curry is strong enough that we don’t miss it. The only “exotic” ingredient involved is fresh ginger, but I can find it at my local grocery store, so don’t be afraid, you can too.

This little nugget of ginger (in #1’s hand) was enough to make this recipe twice. I always choose the smallest piece I can find and it is usually more than enough.

The recipe (originally found in Good Housekeeping, January 2009 and modified by me):

Cauliflower Curry

serves 6-8

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 medium carrots, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

1 1/2 cups brown basmati rice

1 Tbsp fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped

1 Tbsp curry powder

1 can vegetable broth

1 medium head of cauliflower, cut into florets (5-6 cups)

1 can reduced sodium garbanzo beans, drained and well rinsed

1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves, chopped

1/4 cup plain yogurt, plus more for serving

Have all of the vegetables chopped and ready before you begin.

In a 6 quart dutch oven or a similar size soup pot, heat oil on medium heat until hot, then add carrots and onions.  Cook for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned.  Stir frequently.

In the meantime, prepare rice according to package instructions.

Stir ginger and curry into carrot mixture and cook for 3 minutes, stirring constantly.  Add broth, cover pot, and bring to a boil on high heat. Stir in cauliflower and garbanzo beans.  Cover and cook on medium heat for 15-20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes, until cauliflower is tender.

Stir chopped cilantro and yogurt into stew.  Serve in bowls over rice and top with additional yogurt and cilantro if you like.

4 Comments

Filed under Healthy living, Holidays, Posted by Momo, Recipes

4 responses to “Love your heart, curry style

  1. Oh ok, I see it now. I think I am going to try this, I’ve never made curry before.

  2. My hubby loves recipes with flavor. This sounds like it’ll have a great amount of flavor that is different from our normal weeknight meals. Can’t wait to try this for him. Thanks for linking to Saturday Swap!!!

Leave a Reply

