Lunch bag: Healthy No-Bake Peanut Butter Balls

peanut butter balls

My 4-year-old’s preschool asks parents to pack healthy snacks that feature at least 2 food groups. This being my first year packing anything resembling a school lunch, of course I’m going over the top looking for fun, healthy snack ideas she’ll eat. This has been my first great victory: they’re easy, she loved helping me make them, they travel well, they’re not messy, & even My Husband The Suspicious Of Anything Labeled “Healthy” gave them his stamp of approval.

  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 1 cup Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp. coconut oil
  1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, mixing gently to not crush the cereal, until well coated.
  2. Use a tablespoon or soup spoon to scoop out tablespoon-sized portions & roll them into balls between your hands. Place them on a parchment- or waxed-paper-lined cookie sheet.
  3. Refrigerate for 1-2 hours. You can serve them now, or place them in a Ziploc bag in the freezer to portion out in your kids’ lunches. They’ll keep a week in the fridge or a few months in the freezer.

Original recipe here.

Linked up at Mommy Solutions

2 Comments

Filed under Healthy living, Recipes

2 responses to “Lunch bag: Healthy No-Bake Peanut Butter Balls

  1. I’ve been wanting to make peanut butter balls for a while, so I was so excited to see your recipe because I knew it would be easier to make food-allergy-friendly for my girls than my mom’s recipe that I grew up with. So I substituted Wow Butter (soy based) for the peanut butter and Enjoy Life Dairy-free choc chips, and I also omitted the rice krispies just because I didn’t have any. Everyone in the family loves them! In fact, my husband specifically checked to see why I had made the to know if he could help himself freely. In response to his query I informed him he could have some but not to hog them because our girls love them and I want to send them to preschool with my 4-year-old like you do! I love how quick and easy they are and it’s so nice to find egg-free treats (both of my daughters are allergic to egg) because it’s so tricky to substitute for egg without noticing it. Plus, I’m just lazy in the kitchen so I like quick, no-bake recipes. :) Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

