Getting into the Olympic spirit.

I love the Olympics.

I love the athleticism, competition, the drama, & how for 2 weeks every 2 years (we’re thinking winter too) everyone becomes an expert. I love watching people from all over the world come together in the spirit of sportsmanship. And I love that this year I get to pass it on to The Munchkin.

Why are the Olympics so important? Why bother giving Olympic Fever to the rising generation? My friend Kalani wrote a fantastic essay answering that question. There are so many important lessons that athletic competition can teach kids: patriotism, the importance of working hard, how to be a good sport, & — perhaps most importantly in this age of rising childhood obesity — that moving is fun.

So I encourage you to let your Munchkins watch a competition or two with you this year to help them catch The Fever. Here’s how we’re starting with ours.

We’ve decided to let her stay up late to watch some of the Opening Ceremonies Friday, & have started getting her into the spirit by introducing her to the logo & the colors this week by decorating the apartment a little at Munchkin height. We made our own Olympic Rings into a paper chain, with The Munchkin telling me which color strip came next. After just one sheet of construction paper of each color, she had those colors down!

Next she drew her own Olympic Rings. Not a bad first attempt!

Finally, to help her learn a little more about the sports & the competition, I made up a quick medal count chart using clip art to illustrate each category. I had no idea there were so many! If you want one of your own, download it here. Get the medals here — you may need to add extra paper on the side for the swimming category, if it’s anything like 2008 was!

We have a couple other ideas too that I’ll be posting soon. How are you introducing your kids to the Olympics?

3 Comments

Filed under Activities, Crafts, Healthy living

3 responses to “Getting into the Olympic spirit.

  1. L.S.

    I am a Winter Olympics Fan, always have been. I don’t ski, and yet since 1976 I think or 1980, I fell in love with all the different winter sports watching my first winter games. I get all interested in the athletes, and the back stories, and I love the whole entire Winter olympic fanfare, and yes, including curling). So I would love to do something like this for my daughter next winter games.

  2. I love that for a few weeks every other year, the whole world will put aside differences; and come together basically to play. I love your ideas and cannot wait to do them with kids I watch!

  3. This is too cute! Love it!

Leave a Reply

