Perfect oven fries with genuine fry sauce.

I LOVE FRENCH FRIES. I crave them all the time. (Even when I’m not pregnant!) However, rather than frequent our local Five Guys often enough for them to know my name & “usual,” I thought I’d make my own. Probably healthier anyway, right?

So a couple weeks ago I searched my Google Reader — it may or may not have been the first time in like 2 months that it had been open, so I won’t tell you how many unread posts were in there — & found this treasure over at Talkin’ Chow, Playin’ House. They are PERFECT. I won’t tell you how many times I’ve made them since.

I had attempted sweet potato fries once, early in our marriage, & I ran into several problems: 1) they were impossible to cut, 2) they didn’t cook uniformly, & 3) the ones that weren’t charred were soggy & greasy. Briana’s method takes care of all of these problems beautifully, & even gives the fries that crispy, fried texture without all the oil!

Her fries use cayenne to give them a little bit of a kick, but it was a bit too much of a kick for The Munchkin, so here’s my 2-year-old-friendly version.

  • 2 1/2 lbs. Russet potatoes (2 large-ish potatoes is perfect for our little family of 3)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vegetable oil (yes, that’s really it!)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. white sugar (you don’t taste it; it’s the secret ingredient that makes them crisp up so nicely)
  • 1 heaping tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  1. Preheat your oven to 425 & GENEROUSLY grease a baking sheet with cooking spray. Don’t use foil; it’ll actually make the fries stick worse!
  2. Scrub your potatoes & cut each one into a “brick” by slicing off a little of the rounded bit on each long side. Don’t worry about trimming the short ends; this leaves just the perfect little bit of tasty skin on.
  3. Then make 1/4- to 1/2-inch slices long-ways in each brick. Rotate the brick 90 degrees & make more slices. Ta-da! Fries!
  4. Throw your fries into a mixing bowl & add the oil. Let your kitchen helper toss them with her clean hands to coat.
  5. Combine the seasonings in a tiny bowl, then gradually sprinkle them over the fries as your kitchen helper continues to toss, making sure they’re coated evenly.
  6. Spread the fries out on your cookie sheet in a single layer so they don’t make each other soggy.
  7. Bake 15 minutes, pull them out, flip them all over with a spatula so they can crisp on the other side, then bake another 15 minutes.

Now wait, we’re not done yet. No fry is complete without genuine Utah fry sauce.

At its most basic, fry sauce is essentially mayo & ketchup, but there are many permutations of this condiment concoction, which is served at almost every local fast-food joint in the state. Briana’s uses barbecue sauce like a certain restaurant chain does out there, some places add a little garlic powder, & one restaurant that I won’t name even adds relish to theirs (as a pickle hater, I consider this a travesty).

Here’s my version, which I believe to be as close to “original” as possible. Simply combine the following & enjoy:

  • 2 parts mayo (not Miracle Whip)
  • 1 part ketchup
  • a small squirt of yellow mustard (amounts to like a 1/4 to 1/2 tsp.)

works for me wednesday at we are that family

Cast Party Wednesday

36th Avenue

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Perfect oven fries with genuine fry sauce.

  1. i am willing to try these, they look awesome! Here is my recipe for my favorite ever. http://bellesbazaar-heather.blogspot.com/2011/10/baked-french-fries-and-fry-sauce.html

  2. YUM! These look fabulous. You’ve shared some great tips – can’t wait to try them!

  3. These look so good. I love french fries!

  4. These look great! I agree with you about the Fry Sauce~No Pickles!!
    I linked to you from Cast Party Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

