Mummy Dogs.

Unbelievably enough, it’s fall! Though Florida seems to be hanging on desperately to July… What I wouldn’t give for some fall colors right now. & maybe even the chance to wear a sweater.

Even more unbelievably, I’m cooking again! Which means I can start posting again! & maybe even reading other people’s food-related posts again too!

That’s how I realized that what I’m posting is not original. At all. Mel’s Kitchen Cafe posted her version just this morning. But I’m posting it anyway because a) mine is just different enough — it came from BHG –¬†& b) Halloween is one of my absolute favorite holidays, for the sole reason that it gives me license to make fun food that looks like monsters, jack-o-lanterns, witches, &…

Mummies!

(Most photos will be works in progress until we “fall back” next month because by dinnertime at 7pm there is ZERO daylight.)

  • 12 hot dogs (we use bun-length; if you’re making an appetizer for a party or something, you can miniaturize the recipe with cocktail wieners & thinner breadstick strips)
  • 1 pkg. refrigerated breadtick dough
  • 24 capers for eyes (if you don’t like or don’t feel like buying capers just for this, simply dot on mustard or something like Mel did)
  • condiments of choice
  1. Preheat your oven to 375. Unwrap the breadsticks & use a pizza cutter to slice each in half lengthwise. Stretch them out to 12 inches.
  2. Pat your hot dogs dry, then take 2 breadstick strips (say that 10 times fast) & let your kid help you wrap them around the hot dogs. I like to use my thumb to kind of anchor a strip to the top, then let The Munchkin wrap it. Then I flip it upside-down & do the same with the other strip.
  3. Position your dogs on a lightly greased cookie sheet, then firmly press the capers into the breadstick dough for eyes.
  4. Bake about 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.
  5. Serve to your little ghouls & goblins before they head out trick-or-treating! (I see many 8-year-old boys creating delightfully gory scenes with their ketchup.)

works for me wednesday at we are that family

Cast Party Wednesday

36th Avenue

Passionately Artistic

Pin’Inspirational Thursdays

4 Comments

Filed under Holidays, Recipes

4 responses to “Mummy Dogs.

  1. No kidding. I just made these for dinner tonight! I used crescent rolls and mustard for eyes. My toddler thought it was the best dinner ever. Ha.

  2. So cute! I think this will be our Halloween dinner!

  3. what a cute idea you may also like my worm sandwich (really hotdogs) at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  4. This is so unique and awesome..So creative…I would LOVE for you to share this at my Pin’Inspirational Thursday creative linky party pweease — TY .. http://theartsygirlconnection.blogspot.com/2011/10/pininspirational-thursdays-linky-party.html ..Lovely blog :))

Leave a Reply

