Strawberry ice cream. 3 ways.

Before we had to put the ice cream maker away for the move, I wanted to make ice cream one last time. Strawberry ice cream, to be exact. The day after I made this decision, Bridget over at Bake at 350 posted a strawberry ice cream recipe! It was meant to be!

I like to eat ice cream in three ways: 1) with a spoon, 2) with a fork, & 3) with my fingers.

But first, we have to start with the ice cream. Which, in this case, apparently comes from the Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream & Dessert Book. After tasting this, I think I may need to go out & buy it.

  • 2 cups hulled & sliced strawberries
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • 2 eggs, pasteurized**
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 cup whole milk

** If you can’t or don’t want to buy pasteurized eggs — or don’t realize until you’re already halfway into the recipe that it calls for eggs that don’t get cooked, ahem — pasteurize them at home! The eHow.com link I used is now broken, but the gist is to bring the eggs you’ll be using to room temp, then heat a pot of water (enough to cover the eggs) to between 145 & 160 degrees F (use a candy thermometer; I don’t have one, so I used my meat thermometer, which was much less precise & my whites got just the tiniest bit cooked, but still whisked up just fine). Add the eggs to the water, remove from the heat, & let sit for exactly 3 minutes. Then remove the eggs, rinse with cool water, & use them!

  1. In a small bowl, combine the strawberries, 1/3 cup sugar, & lemon juice. Stir just enough to coat, then cover & refrigerate at least an hour.
  2. Mash the strawberries with a potato masher, pastry blender, or even 2 forks; set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs for 1 to 2 minutes, or until frothy & light. Bemoan the fact that your arm is screaming in protest. Vow to start lifting weights again.
  4. Gradually add the 3/4 cup sugar while still whisking (& arm still protesting); whisk (with your left hand now) for one more minute after it’s all been added.
  5. Stir in the cream & milk. Add the strawberries & stir well.
  6. Add the mixture to the chilled canister of your ice cream maker & follow the manufacturer directions to process it.
  7. Remove from the canister to a freezer-safe container & freeze for a few hours to allow it to harden. But not too much. Unless that’s how you like it. In our family… well, to give you an idea, The Munchkin calls it “ice kweam soup.”

Now. How to serve it?

With a spoon: Scoop some into a dessert dish. Add some blueberries for some fruity, patriotic flair.

With a fork: Serve a scoop alongside a slice of my most favorite lemon-blueberry pound cake. So many delicious summer fruits together on one plate? You can’t say no to that.

With your fingers: Press a small, hard scoop between two soft chocolate-chip cookies. When I was in high school, I used to frequent a shop near UCLA called Diddy Riese, where they made amazing ice cream sandwiches using soft, fresh-baked cookies & enormous scoops of Dreyer’s (Edy’s, for you Easterners) ice cream, for only $1! The price has since gone up to $1.50, but the lines are still around the block, the sandwiches are still scrumptious, & this ice-cream/cookie combo still brings back tasty memories.

What’s your favorite way to eat ice cream? Are you an “ice kweam soup” person too?

Tidy Mom

Join  us Saturdays at tatertotsandjello.com for the weekend wrap   up           party!



10 Comments

Filed under Recipes

10 responses to “Strawberry ice cream. 3 ways.

  1. This look SO good! I would likely opt for the cookie sandwich one.

  2. What a great post! The scoop with cookies sounds fantastic! :) I enjoy cookies with icecream. :)

  3. They all look so good! We would LOVE to have you link this up to our giveaway and party! http://sixsistersstuff.blogspot.com/2011/07/strut-your-stuff-saturday-week-1.html

    The Sisters @ sixsistersstuff.blogspot.com

  4. Nikki

    oh my goodness! This looks SO good! Perfect summer treat! I found your blog through a link party and LOVE it! I would love it if you would check out my blog too! Thanks!
    -Nikki

    http://chef-n-training.blogspot.com/

  5. Oh my gosh there is a Ben & Jerry’s cook book?? My life is complete! This looks amazing and I love how you showed how to serve it three different ways. Yum!

  6. Maile

    Um, I’ll take the ice cream all 3 ways, thank you. :) I am really impressed that you pasteurized your own eggs!

  7. Those ice cream sandwiches look amazing . . . I could really use one today- it is so hot!! You have a great blog with so many great recipes and posts! We just wanted to stop by and thank you for linking up to our first link party last week. We appreciate your support so much! We would love to have you stop by again this week and link up more of your great things at Strut Your Stuff Saturday!
    -The Six Sisters
    sixsistersstuff.blogspot.com

  8. Pingback: Sweet Tooth Favorites

  9. This looks so good! I’m drooling! I would love it if you stopped by Jacque’s Soda Parlor and share this yummy recipes on my new link party “Sundae Shake Up”. I hope to see you there!

    Jacque @ Jacque’s Soda Parlor
    thesodaparlor.blogspot.com

    P.S. I am having my first giveaway, right now. The winner gets a Custom 16×20 Family Tree. You should check it out!

  10. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

