MY chocolate-chip cookies.

I had been planning to post this for TidyMom’s I’m Lovin’ It Fridays, & then when I saw that the Make & Takes Saturday Spotlight this week was cookies, I thought, “It was meant to be!” UPDATE: I was also invited to Sweet Tooth Fridays at Alli-n-Son!

I was a music major in college. More specifically, I was a French horn performance major. Not a composition major. Why should you care? Because I can’t write to save my life. Sure, I can personalize & interpret composers’ instructions to make my performances my own, & even wrote a few formulaic cadenzi & Theory assignment chorales, but I can’t pull music out of thin air like my more-talented classmates.

Again, you’re asking why you should care. Because, while I’ve “improv’d” on other people’s recipes & hopefully improved them a little, I’m still just a performer, not a composer. I only have one recipe I can call my own.

Here it is.

I’ve gone back & fiddled with ingredients & amounts time & again, solicited critiques from tasters & even from the ridiculously gifted Lindsey Johnson of Cafe Johnsonia, & I feel like it’s finally right. For now, anyway. I mean, hey, Mahler wrote at least 6 versions of his first symphony.

These cookies are thick, ooey-gooey out of the oven, & even once they’re cooled they maintain that soft center with just the right amount of crunch on the outside.

So here’s what you need to make 3 dozen cookies:

  • Stand mixer
  • Cookie dough scoop (mine has a silicone bottom that leaves a cute little “dimple” in the top of my cookies)
  • 1 cup original shortening
  • 1/2 cup butter flavor shortening (for that buttery flavor without the flattening effect that real butter can produce… but you can just use all original flavor if you want)
  • 1 3/4 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 cups flour (this may vary depending on how dry the air is; see below)
  • half a 12-oz. bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Cream together shortenings & sugars in stand mixer.
  3. Beat in eggs & vanilla, but don’t overmix.
  4. Add soda & salt, then gradually add flour, stopping in the middle to scrape sides of bowl. If the air is dry, slowly add the last cup of flour. Stop adding & mixing when the dough starts coming together in one mass. The dough below is a little too dry; the heater had been going 24 hours a day. So use this as a cautionary example: stop just before it gets crumbly like this. If you do get to this point, the cookies will still taste fabulous; they just won’t be quite as soft on Day 2. Assuming they last that long.
  5. Lock the mixer head & slowly add the chocolate chips with the mixer on low. Don’t overmix or you’ll pulverize your chips. You could remove the bowl & fold them in by hand, but my tendonitis (I told you I was a musician) says NO to that, thankyouverymuch!
  6. Scoop the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet.
  7. Bake 8-9 minutes or until just golden brown. Let cool on the cookie sheet 1 minute.

Look at that ooey-gooey goodness! This is my favorite way to enjoy them: straight out of the oven.

With a glass of milk, of course.

Tidy Mom I'm Lovin It Fridays

7 Comments

Filed under Recipes

7 responses to “MY chocolate-chip cookies.

  1. My mouth is watering! These look SO yummy! Alas, Crisco is outrageously priced here in China, so I will need to make these this summer during our trip back to the U.S. Good job!

  2. Mmmmm, there’s nothing better than a warm chocolate chip cookie.

    I’d love to have you share this recipe with Sweet Tooth Friday! http://alli-n-son.com/2011/02/24/cream-cheese-brownies/

  3. Wendy C

    I’m so glad you posted your famous cookie recipe. I love your cookies. Have you ever tried just butter crisco? Would it be overly buttery?

    • Wendy,
      The issue isn’t with it being overly buttery; it’s with it tasting too artificially buttery. You might be able to do 1 cup butter flavor to 1/2 cup regular if you want more of a butter taste, but I wouldn’t try more than that.

  4. Awesome, I came here through a google search and this article is exactly what i was searching for. Once i find time i’ll definitely read a few more articles on this site. Does this site have an RSS feed? I prefer to add valuable sites to my rss feed reader, this way i don’t miss updates… I searched for the feed icon but cannot seem to find it…

  5. Leah

    I made these today and I must say, they were quite tasty! The Crisco gives it a nice texture. Mine still came out flat. I think maybe my baking soda is past it’s prime. Again, they were delicious and the husband and child LOVED them!

    • That happens to me too sometimes if it’s humid; the flour isn’t enough to help it keep its shape. So don’t worry about it too much! I’m glad you liked them! They’re definitely our favorite.

Leave a Reply

